Women's & Gender Studies (Reference Items)

What are you trying to find?

Women’s and Gender Studies Reference Items

The following are recommended Reference titles available from Steely Library

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

Credo Reference E-books

A complete reference collection from over 50 publishers, powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide answers - and new connections - in context.
Share this Resource:

  • Gender and Education: An Encyclopedia
    REF LC 213 .G425 2007

    Two volumes. "The entries in this work cover the breadth of topics related to gender and education. They provide reference information on the history and condition of gender and education from elementary to high school. Entries cover such topics as: alternative schools, historically black colleges and universities in the United States, military colleges and academies, private and public single-sex and co-educational schools, literacy, mathematics achievement, women's centers, teacher interactions with girls and boys, affirmative action in U.S. higher education, sororities and fraternities, educator sexual misconduct, expectations of teachers for boys and girls, heterosexism and homophobia, bullying, harassment, and violence among students, salaries of male and female educators, school choice and gender equity, disabled students and gender equity, Title IX and school sports, black feminism, womanism, and queer theory." (Amazon.com)
  • Encyclopedia of Women and Gender
    REF HQ1115 .E43 2001

    Examines sex similarities and differences and the impact of society on gender.
  • International Encyclopedia of Women
    REF HQ1115 .R69 2000

    Examines global women's issues and knowledge.
  • Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories
    HQ1190 .E63 2000
  • Handbook of American Women’s History
    REF HQ1410 .H36 2000
  • Women’s Studies Encyclopedia
    REF HQ1115 .W645 1989

    Examines women’s studies as related to science, literature, art, history, philosophy and religion.
  • Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide
    REF HQ1115 G74 2003

    Examines women’s issues and social conditions in Europe, Asia, Africa, South and Central America and North America.
  • From Suffrage to the Senate: America’s Political Women
    HQ1236.5.U6 S32 2006x

    An encyclopedia of leaders, causes and issues.
  • Chronology of Women Worldwide
    HQ1121 .C617 1997

    Examines people, places and events in women’s history. Contains more than 1,500 entries.
  • Historical Dictionary of Feminism
    REF HQ1115 B65 2004

    A part of the Historical Dictionaries of Religions, Philosophies, and Movements series.

The Women’s and Gender Studies Research Guide is maintained by Allen Ellis. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457