Theatre & Dance (Web Resources)

What are you trying to find?


Theatre and Dance Web Resources

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

Theatre in Video

Contains performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Stage work of directors and actors are cross-searchable and available for side-by-side comparison. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, provide illustration of the development of texts and the productions.
Coverage:

1930 - present, updated periodically
Share this Resource:
http://library.nku.edu/databases/theatreinvideo.html

Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo, and Dacapo catalogues of over 258,000 tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk, and Chinese music. While listening, users can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database.
Additional Software Needed:

Audio playback requires Adobe Flash Player
Mobile Versions:

Naxos Music Library Mobile iPhone App

Naxos Music Library Mobile Android App

Access:

This database is limited to five (5) simultaneous users.  Please remember to log out of the Naxos Music Library instead of just closing your browser or searching another website when exiting this database.
Share this Resource:
http://library.nku.edu/databases/naxosmusiclibrary.html

Iter : Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Includes bibliographic records for articles, essays, books, dissertation abstracts, encyclopedia entries and reviews.
Coverage:

400 - 1700 (Middle Ages and Renaissance), updated daily
Share this Resource:
http://library.nku.edu/databases/itergatewaymiddleagesandrenaissance.html


The Web has a variety of sites useful to the Theatre student. Here are just a few recommended ones:

  • Yahoo!'s Theatre Page
    A directory of theatre-related web pages accessible through Yahoo!, covering everything from "Commedia Dell'Arte" to "Job and Employment Resources" to "Stage Combat."
  • Yahoo!'s Dance Page
    A directory of dance-related web pages accessible through Yahoo!, covering everything from "Apparel" to "Performing Groups" to "Renaissance."
  • Back Stage
    "Back Stage is the actor's resource -- a brand that aims to give actors all the information they need to succeed." The website complements the print publication, to which Steely Library does not subscribe directly, but has available, full text, through Academic Search [Lexis-Nexis] and, of all places, Business Source Premier.
  • Playbill
    "Serving theatre since 1884," Playbill is "the longest-running publication about theater performance in the United States" (Ulrichsweb) and its web site contains a wealth of information, from news to feature articles to job listings.
  • Live Design
    "Live Design is the new must-read creative and technical journal for live entertainment professionals in lighting, staging, and projection. Each issue provides designers, programmers, and technicians with tips and trends, news and reviews of the latest gear, reports from the field, and industry viewpoint and commentary. From concerts to theatre, houses of worship to clubs, theme parks to corporate events, Live Design is your one stop resource for visual production technology." Steely Library does not subscribe directly to Live Design, but it is available, full text, in Academic Search [Lexis-Nexis] and, of all places, Business Source Premier.
  • Backstage Jobs
    "Your source for all behind-the-scenes jobs in the live entertainment industry"
  • AWOL's Thousands of Acting Links
    Acting Workshop On-Line provides this invaluable resource for acting-related web sites, such as auditions postings, finding an agent, monologs, and so forth.
  • The World of London Theatre, 1660-1800
    From Voice of the Shuttle, "web site for humanities research," you can find "Contemporary Descriptions of London Life," "London Theatre People, 1660-1800," "Map of Theatre District," and so forth."
  • Mondays with Merce
    "The Merce Cunningham Dance Studio is one of the most celebrated in the United States. Even though Merce Cunningham passed away in 2009, this collection of free webcasts remains a fine resource for people with an interest in dance. Visitors to the site can go behind the scenes at the studio to see Merce teach advanced technique class and conduct rehearsals." (The Scout Report)
  • Dance Magazine
    An online supplement to Dance Magazine, featuring dance videos, blogs, reviews, directories, and links to resources such as scholarship, job and audition guides.



The Theatre and Dance Research Guide is maintained by Allen Ellis. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457