Kinesiology, Health Education, & Athletic Training (Reference Items)

What are you trying to find?


Kinesiology, Health Education, and Athletic Training Reference Items

The following are recommended Reference titles available from Steely Library

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

Credo Reference E-books

A complete reference collection from over 50 publishers, powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide answers - and new connections - in context.
Share this Resource:
http://library.nku.edu/databases/credoreferenceebooks.html

Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson)

Wilson's largest biography database has combined the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the thorough periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries). With links to every article focused on any individual in nearly every WilsonWeb database, Biography Reference Bank offers a breadth and depth of information you'll find in no other biography database. It covers over 500,000 people and includes over 36,000 images!
Mobile Version:

Biography Reference Bank Mobile

Coverage:

Ancient times to present
Share this Resource:
http://library.nku.edu/databases/biographyreferencebank.html


  • Sports in America: Recreation, Business, Education, and Controversy
    Location: REF GV 583 .S7x 2008
    Each chapter in the book examines a particular aspect of sports and American society.
  • Working Americans 1880-2009, Volume X: Sports & Recreation
    Location: REF HD 8066 .D47 2000x v. 10
    Examines professional and amateur sports as well as leisure time and recreation interests. This volume illustrates how Americans had fun from the Civil War to the present.
  • Notable Sports Figures
    Location: REF GV 697 .A1 N68 2004, 4 volumes
    Provides narrative biographical profiles of more than 600 individuals who have made significant contributions to their sport and to society.
  • African Americans in Sports
    Location: REF GV 583 .A567 2004, 2 volumes
    A biographical encyclopedia that furnishes information on the individual accomplishments of some of the most famous African-American athletes.
  • International Encyclopedia of Women and Sports
    Location: REF GV 709 .I58 2000, 3 volumes
    The encyclopedia contains nearly 50 articles covering individual sports, groups of related sports, and athletic activities. Each article covers the history of the sport, the history of women's participation, basic rules of play, and the current status of women's participation.
  • Encyclopedia of Extreme Sports
    Location: REF GV 749.7 .S24 2009
    Students and extreme sport enthusiasts will not only learn about the sports themselves, but also about the techniques, innovations, engineering, and physics behind them. Other parts of the encyclopedia highlight key areas of study, such as extreme sports and the media, the controversies surrounding, and the impact of extreme sports on our culture. A resource guide of print and electronic sources, competitions, organizations offers students an insider's guide to all things extreme.
  • Careers in Focus. Sports
    Location: GV 734.3 .C38 2009
    Covers more than 20 careers that may appeal to athletic students.
  • Careers in Focus. Coaches and Fitness Professionals
    Location: GV 711 .C33 2008
    Approximately 20 careers are profiled including: Aerobics instructors, College sports coaches, Dietitians and nutritionists, Exercise physiologists, Fitness directors, Health club owners and managers, Lifeguards and swimming instructors, Motivational speakers, Recreational therapists, Strength and conditioning coaches, and Yoga and Pilates instructors.



The Kinesiology, Health Education, & Athletic Training Research Guide is maintained by Jennifer Smith. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457