Steely Library phone number: 859.572.5457
Journalism (Web Resources)
What are you trying to find?
Journalism Web Resources
The Web has a variety of sites useful to the journalism student. Here are just a few recommended ones:
- Journalists' Tools
From Refdesk.com, a compilation of website specifically designed as a quick reference for journalists.
- AIM - Accuracy in Media
A "non-profit, grassroots citizens watchdog of the news media that critiques botched and bungled news stories and sets the record straight on important issues that have received slanted coverage."
- FAIR - Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting
"FAIR, the national media watch group, has been offering well-documented criticism of media bias and censorship since 1986. We work to invigorate the First Amendment by advocating for greater diversity in the press and by scrutinizing media practices that marginalize public interest, minority and dissenting viewpoints. As an anti-censorship organization, we expose neglected news stories and defend working journalists when they are muzzled. As a progressive group, FAIR believes that structural reform is ultimately needed to break up the dominant media conglomerates, establish independent public broadcasting and promote strong non-profit sources of information."
- Journalism.org - Pew Research Center's Project for Excellence in Journalism
"[C]onducts research about journalism in the hope that a better understanding of what the news media is providing to citizens will help journalists do a better job and help citizens better understand what to expect and how to demand what they need." Note the "Journalism Resources" tab.
- The Journalist's Toolbox - American Press Institute
"This free site from the Society of Professional Journalists contains thousands of links helpful for reporters, editors, educators or anyone else doing research. Edited by former Los Angeles Times reporter and DePaul instructor Mike Reilley, the site is organized by beats and industry topics such as Public Records, Crime, Legal Issues, Science, Environment, Journalism Jobs, Sports and more. The Toolbox is updated twice weekly and several times a day during prominent global breaking news events."
- Index on Censorship - The International Magazine for Free Expression
"Britain's leading organisation promoting freedom of expression. With its global profile, its website provides up-to-the-minute news and information on free expression from around the world."
"A refereed media journal ... relevant to current practices before those practices become outdated or at least old news." The focus is on "growth areas such as journalism, public relations, media production and digital media" and an "environment, where academics can engage in the discussion and debate relevant to their emerging disciplines."
- OJR: The Online Journalism Review
"Focusing on the Future of Digital Journalism." From the University of Southern California's Annenberg School for Communication, this "is an online journal dedicated to covering the full range of journalistic issues in all media. Ojr.org emphasizes the application of journalistic standards to new media across legal, ethical and commercial dimensions. The publication features original articles written by professional journalists and editors."
- American Journalism Review
An online supplement to the noted magazine (to which Steely Library has full-text access) which in itself is a significant resource of professional information, news, and opinion.
"[A]n online database which provides links to American and worldwide online newspapers and magazines, as well as radio and TV stations and networks and other journalism and news resources. ... there is also a job seeking search facility, 'JobLink'." (Intute [http://www.intute.ac.uk/cgi-bin/fullrecord.pl?handle=artifact162])
Source for over 3,500 internationalnewspapers, updated every week. Links to United States and world online newspapers, college/university newspapers, wire services, worldwide news sites, weather sites, editorials, commentators and journalists.
- Newseum's "Today's Front Pages"
Scans of front pages of major world newspapers, "in their original, unedited form."
- Vanderbilt University Television News Archive
The "world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968."
- Student Press Law Center
An "advocate for student free-press rights [providing] information, advice and legal assistance at no charge to students and the educators who work with them."
- National Press Club: The World's Leading Professional Organization for Journalists
The Club's purpose is to "provide people who gather and disseminate news a center for the advancement of their professional standards and skills, the promotion of free expression, mutual support and social fellowship."
- Society of Professional Journalists
"[T]he nation's most broad-based journalism organization, dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior."
- Committee to Protect Journalists
"An "independent, nonprofit organization founded [to] promote press freedom worldwide by defending the rights of journalists to report the news without fear of reprisal."
- The Pulitzer Prizes
"[C]ontains the complete list of Pulitzer Prize winners from 1917 (the first year the Prizes were awarded) to the present ... lists Nominated Finalists from 1980 (the first year finalists were announced) through the present ... the full text of winning entries in the Journalism categories from 1995 through the present ... biographies of winners from 1995 through the present and information on Board members and Nominating Jurors."
- Competitive Intelligence - A Selective Resource Guide
"[F]ocuses on leveraging selected reliable, focused, free and low cost sites and sources to effectively profile and monitor companies, markets, countries, people, and issues." Note the link to "Television and Radio News Transcripts."
Steely Library phone number: 859.572.5457