Folklore (Reference Items)

What are you trying to find?


Folklore Reference Items

The following are recommended Reference titles available from Steely Library

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

Credo Reference E-books

A complete reference collection from over 50 publishers, powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide answers - and new connections - in context.
Share this Resource:
http://library.nku.edu/databases/credoreferenceebooks.html


  • Spirits, Fairies, Leprechauns, and Goblins: An Encyclopedia
    Location: GR549 .R65 1998x
    "In more than 2,000 alphabetically arranged entries, readers will meet angels, demons, elves, encantados, fairies, familiars, keremets, nats, nymphs, and many other strange beings from around the world. Carol Rose introduces the reader to the little--and not so little--folk, delightfully various and, at the same time, strikingly similar from country to country." (Amazon.com)
  • Encyclopedia of Urban Legends
    Location: GR105.34 .B78 2001
    An exhaustive reference work that contains alphabetical entries on urban legends and methodology in researching folklore from around the world. Includes urban legends that circulate throughout the internet. Each entry includes a citation for more information. The e-book version of the same work can be found in Credo Reference.
  • A Guide to Folktales in the English Language
    Location: GR74.6 .A83x
    Indexes English language fairy and folk tales using the Aarne-Thompson system. Includes an explanation of the Aarne-Thompson classification system. Anecdotes, religious tales, romantic stories, and the Grimm Brothers' stories are included.
  • American Folklore: An Encyclopedia
    Location: GR101 .A54 1996
    Compiled by scholars in the field, this work contains folklore from the US and Canada. It covers urban, rural, older and contemporary, and ethnic folklore and entries on figures in the field. Arranged alphabetically, each entry includes definitions and citations.
  • The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Folktales and Fairytales
    Location: GR74 .G73 2008
    This multivolume set covers the international world of folktales and their similarities and differences in re-tellings around the world. Many of the citations include current web resources for researchers and students alike.
  • Dictionary of Mythology, Folklore, and Symbols
    Location: GR35 .J6
    This multivolume dictionary provides brief entries on figures in folktales, fairytales, researchers, and authors from around the world. Comprehensive in its scope, this dictionary covers both ancient and contemporary folktales.



The Folklore Research Guide is maintained by Robert Zai III. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457