Finance (Reference Items)

What are you trying to find?

Finance Reference Items

The following are recommended Reference titles available from Steely Library

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

Credo Reference E-books

A complete reference collection from over 50 publishers, powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide answers - and new connections - in context.
Share this Resource:


  • The New Palgrave Dictionary of Money & Finance
    3-volume set provides a guide to modern money, banking and finance. In more than 1,000 substantial essays by leading academic and professional authorities, it provides comprehensive analysis of contemporary theory and the global monetary and financial framework.
    Print issue location: REF HG151.N48 1992
  • Thorndike Encyclopedia of Banking and Financial Tables
    Includes tables such as: loan payment and amortization; compound interest and annuity; installment loans; investment.
    Print issue location: REF HG1626.T49 1987
  • Dictionary of Finance and Investment Terms / Barron's
    Electronic copy: HG151.D69 2006eb
  • Dictionary of Financial Terms
    Print issue location: REF HG151.M66 2000x
  • Dictionary of Financial Abbreviations
    Print issue location: REF HG151.3.P38 2003
  • McGraw-Hill Handbook of Interest, Yields, and Returns
    Print issue location: REF HG1621.R67 1995
  • Handbook of Business Valuation and Intellectual Property Analysis
    A review of contemporary valuation issues related to businesses, securities, and intellectual property. Covers economic damages, lost profit analysis, etc.
    Print issue location: REF HG4028.V3 H257 2004
  • Business Statistics of the United States: Patterns of Economic Change
    Contains more than 4,000 data series covering virtually every aspect of the U.S. economy, including GDP by state and region, employment, production, prices, productivity, international trade, money supply, and interest rates.
    Print issue location: REF HC101.A13122 : Annual


  • Mergent Online
    U.S. Company Data section covers NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ companies and EDGAR filings back to 1993. International Company Data section contains data on 20,000 non-U.S. based corporations. FactSheets section contains presentation-quality, one-page summary equity reports. More than 1,500 NYSE, NASDAQ and AMEX companies' reports are updated quarterly with critical investment information, including summaries of recent quarterly results, analyses of future prospects, income statement and balance sheet information, key operating statistics and ratios, and more.
  • Business Source Premier Enhanced Business Searching Interface
    Choose Company Profiles. Datamonitor Reports covers 10,000 companies, providing business descriptions, history, key employees, major products and services, top competitors, SWOT analysis.
  • Lexis/Nexis Academic Search: Business
    This is a good backup to Mergents because it contains information on private companies, while Mergents covers only publicly-traded companies. The Company Profiles section includes Hoover's Company Reports, the in-depth reports not available for free from their online web site; and Standard & Poor's Corporation Descriptions. The Company Financial section includes stock reports and Disclosure and NAARS annual reports. The Compare Companies section lets you compare companies by sales, net income, and number of employees using Hoover's data. SEC Filings searches the SEC database.
  • Standard & Poor's Research Insight (Compustat)
    Contains data on about 54,000 global securities; ratios; the ability to compare company financial data; Standard & Poor's stock reports.
    Available only from Steely Library research computers.
  • Standard & Poor's Stock Reports
    Print issue location: REF HG4907.S72x : Quarterly
  • Mergent Municipal & Government Manual
    Describes issuers of municipal securities
    Print issue location: REF HG4931.M6x : Annual
  • LexisNexis Corporate Affiliations: "Who Owns Whom"
    Covers major public and private businesses in the U.S. and throughout the world. Organized geographically by parent company; gives hierarchy and subsidiaries.
    Print issue location: REF HG4057.A217x : Annual
  • Value Line Investment Survey
    Contains investment newsletters, published weekly. Tracks approximately 1,700 stocks in more than 90 industries. Its Timeliness Ranking System ranks stocks on a scale of 1 to 5 for probable market performance over the next 6 to 12 months. The Ratings & Reports volume is the heart of the Value Line Survey. It publishes weekly new, full-page reports on about 130 stocks, plus analysis on about 6 of the more than 90 industries they track. Each stock report is updated on a regular rotation every 13 weeks, or 4 times a year. The Selection & Opinion volume contains 12 - 16 page publications featuring a discussion of the U.S. economy and the stock market, three model portfolios (for aggressive, conservative, and long-term investors) and in-depth analysis of selected stocks. Electronic copy: ValueLine
  • RMA Annual Statement Studies: Financial Ratio Benchmarks
    Contains financial ratio benchmarks derived from more than 190,000 statements of financial institution borrowers and prospects. These financial statements come directly to RMA from member institutions that get their data straight from the businesses they serve. Financial Ratio Benchmarks include: Nineteen classic financial statement ratios, clearly defined. Common-size balance sheet and income statement line items are arrayed by asset and sales size. More than 700 industries presented using the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes. Trend data available for five years. You’ll get the most up-to-date information for the current period, and you’ll quickly be able to compare it to the past four periods.
    Print issue location: HF5681.B2 R6 : Annual
  • Industry Norms & Key Business Ratios / Dun & Bradstreet
    Financial information database of nearly 1 million public and private companies in over 800 lines of business to calculate financial norms and ratios. Fourteen ratios such as current assets to current debts, net profit to net sales, etc. are presented. Arranged by SIC code.
    Print issue location: REF HF5681.R25 K4x : Annual
  • Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
    Financial and operating ratios for about 160 industries, including banks and financial industries, as well as manufacturing, wholesaling, and retailing industries. Statistics are based on corporate activity during the latest year for which figures from IRS tax returns are published, so they are usually about three years old; however, this is one of the few sources for many of the service industries' ratios.
    Print issue location: REF HF5681.R25 T68 : Annual

The Finance Research Guide is maintained by John Schlipp. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457