Children's Literature (Books & Media)

Search for Children's Literature Books:

edscl

What are you trying to find?


Children's Literature Books & Media

How to Find books, videos, and other materials in Steely Library.

Quick Children's Literature Book Search:

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

For locating specific items, including videos in the Media Collection, using the library's catalog, NKUIRE, is recommended. Keyword, Author, Title, and Subject are among the ways you can search.

For Non-Print Media (videos, DVDs, CDs, slides, etc.), Consider the "Media Searches" tab atop the NKUIRE search page.

WorldCat is the world's most comprehensive bibliography, with more than 49 million bibliographic records representing 400 languages. Covers information from 2100 B.C.E. to the present. Includes holdings information from libraries across the world. Now includes the Library of Congress Subject Headings as its thesaurus. If Steely Library does not own a title, it may be requested through SourceFinder.

Browsing for books in Steely's Reference and Circulating collections can be very useful


For Children's Literature, the following call number areas are suggested:

Actual children's and young adult literature can be found in the Learning Resource Collection on the fourth floor of Steely Library. These books are identified in NKUIRE with a Y at the beginning of their call number.  The Y Book information and non-fiction books are divided by subject according to the Library of Congress Classification System and are shelved before and after the fiction books that have a Y PZ7 call number.

Y BF Psychology
Y BL Mythology
Y BP-BS Religion
Y C-F History
Y G Geography
Y GR Folklore
Y J Immigration
Y K American Law
Y M Music
Y N Art
Y P Linguistics (Word concepts)
Y PJ Poetry
Y PN Entertainment
Y PR English Literature
Y PS American Literature
Y PZ7 Fiction
Y PZ8 Folklore/Fairytales
Y PZ10 Animal Fiction
Y QA Math
Y QB-QL Sciences
Y R Medicine
Y S Agriculture
Y T Technology/Engineering
Y Z Libraries

To find information about children's and young adult literature, search the Steely collection in the areas of Literature (P), Art (N), or Library Science (Z).


New Children's Literature Titles in the Library's catalog, NKUIRE.


Refer to the Learning Resource Collection Web page for additional helps in accessing the literature and information about the literature.



The Children's Literature Research Guide is maintained by Jennifer Smith. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457