Steely Library phone number: 859.572.5457
Astronomy (Web Resources)
What are you trying to find?
Astronomy Web Resources
The Web has a variety of sites useful to the astronomy student. Here are just a few recommended ones:
Science.gov is a gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results for Agriculture, food, applied science, technology, astronomy, space, biology, nature, earth and ocean sciences, and energy & energy conservation, environmental science, health, medicine, natural resources, conservation, and science education.
- Science.gov index
This index provides a basic topic or advanced author/title seach in any or all the above selected topics. An A to Z list of (currently) about 150 topics.
- Astronomy & Space
This A to Z list of 12 specific topics in the areas of astronomy, space exploration and development, and space technology.
- Comets, Asteroids, and Meteors
Comets, asteroids, and Meteors This source provides information such as NASA reports, journal articles, and conference proceedings, and the Near-Earth Object Program information on all aspects of comet and asteroid studies.
- Astrobiology Magazine
Astrobiology Magazine - Information and discussion groups devoted to Extrasolar life; Extreme life; Life and Giant Planets; Mars Life; Meteors, Comets, and Asteroids; Missions; New Planets; Stellar Evolution; Terrestrial Climate History; Terrestrial Origins. [National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), Ames Research Center (ARC)]
- Astronomy found in: The Internet Public Library's
Astronomy is the study of matter outside the earth's atmosphere, especially the positions, dimensions, distribution, motion, and composition of celestial bodies and phenomena.
- NKU Astronomy and Planetarium Information, Events, and Activities are found via the Planetarium link on the Department of Physics website.
- Astronomy resources on the Web: Sites from the amateur and professional astronomer by Jane Duffy, C&RL News, V. 62, No. 1, December 2001
- NASA ADS, The SOA/NASA Astrophysical Data System
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 10.4 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints. The main body of data in the ADS consists of bibliographic records, which are searchable through highly customizable query forms, and full-text scans of much of the astronomical literature which can be browsed or searchedvia our full-text search interface. Integrated in its databases, the ADS provides access and pointers to a wealth of external resources, including electronic articles, data catalogs and archives. We currently have links to over 10.1 million records maintained by our collaborators.
- Centre de Données astronomiques de Strasbourg/Strasbourg astronomical Data Center:
CDS Strausburg allows you to find detailed information and research histories on any object in the sky.
- Cornell University Library Archive (ARXIV) of Science Literature
Arxiv is a pre-print archive, good for all sciences, which catalogs publications currently in proceedings to be published but not yet released. ARXIV provides Open access to 878,328 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics http://arxiv.org/
- Barbara A. Mikulski ARCHIVE FOR SPACE TELESCOPES
The Space Telescope Science Institute data archive, a central clearing house for all NASA space instrument data. >> http://archive.stsci.edu/
- Astronomy Picture of the Day
A lovely educational site that posts a new astronomical image each day with explanation by a professional astronomer and reference links. http://apod.nasa.gov/apod/astropix.htm
- Heavens Above Tracks all near Earth objects and satellites and tells you when you can see what.
- IPL Internet Public Library Astronomy Resources divided into topics: Astrophysics, Galatic, Solar System(Plantary), Splaceflight and Exploration, Stargazing, and Stellar Sources. http://www.ipl.org/IPLBrowse/GetSubject?vid=13&cid=1&tid=7116&parent=7115
Steely Library phone number: 859.572.5457