Newbery Award

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.



The Crossover, written by Kwame Alexander, published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.  Y PZ7.5.A44 Cr 2014

Honor Books

El Deafo, by Cece Bell, illustrated by Cece Bell and published by Amulet Books, an imprint of ABRAMS.

Brown Girl Dreaming, written by Jacqueline Woodson and published by Nancy Paulsen Books, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA) LLC.



Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures, written by Kate DiCamillo, published by Candlewick Press. Y PZ 7.D5455 Flo 2013x

Honor Books

Doll Bones, written by Holly Black and published by Margaret K. McElderry Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing Division.  Y PZ 7.B52878 Dol 2013

The Year of Billy Miller, written by Kevin Henkes and published by Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers. Y PZ 7.H389 Ye 2013

One Came Home, written by Amy Timberlake and published by Alfred A. Knopf, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books, a division of Random House, Inc. Y PZ7.T479 One 2013

Paperboy, written by Vince Vawter and published by Delacorte Press, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books, a division of Random House, Inc.
Y PZ 7.V4734 Pap 2013



The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate (HarperCollins Children's Books)
Y PZ7.A6483 On 2012

Honor Books
Splendors and Glooms by Laura Amy Schlitz (Candlewick Press).
Y PZ7.S347145 Spl 2012

Bomb: The Race to Build—and Steal—the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon by Steve Sheinkin (Flash Point/Roaring Brook Press).
Y UG1282.A8 S235 2012

Three Times Lucky by Sheila Turnage (Dial/Penguin Young Readers Group)
Y PZ7.T8488 Thr 2012



Dead End in Norvelt by Jack Gantos (published by Farrar Straus Giroux).
Y PZ7 .G15334 Dd 2011

Honor Books
Inside Out & Back Again by Thanhha Lai (published by HarperCollins Children's Books).

Breaking Stalin's Nose by Eugene Yelchin (published by Henry Holt and Company, LLC).
Y PZ7 .Y3766 Br 2011



Moon Over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool (published by Delacorte Press, an imprint of Random House Books). Y PZ 7 .P28393 Mo

Honor Books

Turtle in Paradise by Jennifer L. Holm (published by Random House Children's Books).

Heart of a Samurai by Margi Preus (published by Amulet Books, an imprint of ABRAMS).

Y PZ 7 .P92434 He 2010

Dark Emperor and Other Poems of the Night by Joyce Sidman, illustrated by Rick Allen (published by Houghton Mifflin Books for Children).

Y PS 3569 .I295 D37

One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia (published by Amistad, an imprint of HarperCollins).

Y PZ 7 .W6713 On 2010


Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457