Steely Library phone number: 859.572.5457
World Languages (Web Resources)
What are you trying to find?
World Languages Web Resources
The Web has a variety of sites useful to the world languages student. Here are just a few recommended ones:
- Marjorie Chan's ChinaLinks at The Ohio State University
"annotated links to over six hundred China- and Chinese language and linguistics-related websites".
- Chinese Classics
"Chinese classic literature as possible for the benefit of the Internet community"
- ABU: la Bibliotheque Universelle
"Public domain full text and searchable texts contributed by members of the Association des Bibliophiles Universels"
- ARTFL Project
"The Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language contains access to databases on French Women Writers, Provencal Poetry, and more."
- Littérature de Langue Française en Ligne
"Links to libraries, author sites, online texts, theater, dictionaries, francophone literature etc. Maintained by the Graduate Center of the City University of New York French Ph.D. Program"
- Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker (DBDK)
“The Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker is highly regarded both in Germany and throughout the world as the premier collection of literary and non-literary German writing, covering the works from Eleventh century to Nineteenth Century.”
- German Studies Web
“German Studies megasite includes links to news and reference resources, libraries, bookstores and publishers, history, politics and government, fine arts, and much more”
- Italian Women Writers Project (IWW)
“a long-term research endeavor to preserve and provide access to an extensive corpus of literature written by Italian women authors”.
- Antologia (frammentaria) della Letteratura Italiana
Anthology of Italian Literature
- Keiko Schneider sensei's Bookmarks
“One-stop site for those who study and teach Japanese and Japan”
- Japanese Text Initiative
“The Japanese Text Initiative (JTI) intends to put online on the Web texts of classical Japanese literature in Japanese characters. Our primary audience is English-speaking scholars and students. Where possible, the Japanese texts will be accompanied by English translations.”
- Korean through English
“The online service for learning Korean through English provided by the Ministry of Culture and Tourism”
- Korean Bibliography
"The Korean Section of the Library of Congress has prepared a bibliography of approximately 4,800 records of books about Korea in English up to 1995 held by the Library of Congress. Although this resource is currently limited to English language works, it is a comprehensive and user-friendly bibliographic tool for researchers and scholars interested in Korean studies. This database is searchable via author, title, and subject"
- Latin Dictionary and Grammar Aid
“Created by Notre Dame University, this online dictionary and grammar aid can also be used to help with translations. Some knowledge of Latin is required as the dictionary searches by stems and endings”
- Latin Grammar
“Created by a Mathematics professor at Ohio State University, this Web site is designed to help new Latin students learn the intricacies of Latin grammar and includes charts, tips, and explanations. Also included are a list of selected online Latin language resources”.
"Created by the Center for Russian & East European Studies at the University of Pittsburgh, this site indexes thousands of Web sites on the literature, history, culture, society, and more of Russia and Eastern Slavic countries”
- Russian Resources
"Created by foreign languages faculty at the University at Albany (SUNY), this page is a portal to Web sites on Russian language, grammar, history, culture, news, and more"
- Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes
"Library of digitized texts and videos from Spain and Latin America from the 16th century to the early twentieth century"
- Biblioteca Virtual Mundo Hispano
"Provides links to digitized collections of Spanish and Latin America texts with sections on individual authors, periods, and genres"
- Internet Public Library: Language and Linguistics
The Internet Public Library is hosted by The iSchool at Drexel, College of Information Science and Technology, with major support from the College of Information at Florida State University and its founder, the University of Michigan School of Information
- News Central
Source for over 3,500 international newspapers, updated every week. Links to United States and world online newspapers, college/university newspapers, wire services, worldwide news sites, weather sites, editorials, commentators and journalists.
Steely Library phone number: 859.572.5457