Psychology (Reference Items)

What are you trying to find?

Psychology Reference Items

The following are recommended Reference titles available from Steely Library

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

Credo Reference E-books

A complete reference collection from over 50 publishers, powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide answers - and new connections - in context.
Share this Resource:

  • American Psychological Association Dictionary of Psychology
    REF BF31 .A65 2007

    "With more than 25,000 terms and definitions, the 'APA Dictionary of Psychology' encompasses all areas of research and application, and includes coverage of concepts, processes, and therapies across all the major sub-disciplines of psychology. It includes thousands of cross references, directing the user to synonyms, antonyms, acronyms, and abbreviations."
  • Biographical Dictionary of Psychology
    "The Biographical Dictionary of Psychology provides biographical information and critical analysis of the influences, interest and reception of over 500 people who have made a significant contribution to the field of psychology. The entries are alphabetically organized and identically structured, allowing the reader to access and compare information easily. Introductory biographical details cover main fields of interest, nationality, places and dates of birth and death, appointments and honors. This section is followed by full bibliographic details of principal publications, as well as secondary and critical literature that provide a useful route for further research. The main body of the entry gives a critical appraisal of the life, work and major achievements of each figure."
  • Encyclopedia of Psychology
    REF BF31 .E52 2000

    Contains more than 1,500 entries
  • Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology
    BF636 .E52 2004x

    "The Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology encompasses applications of psychological knowledge and procedures in all areas of psychology. This compendium is a major source of information for professional practitioners, researchers in psychology, and for anyone interested in applied psychology. The topics included are, but are not limited to, aging (geropsychology), assessment, clinical, cognitive, community, counseling, educational, environmental, family, industrial/organizational, health, school, sports, and transportation psychology. The entries drawn from the above-referenced areas provide a clear definition of topic, a brief review of theoretical basis relevant to the topic, and emphasize major areas of application."
  • The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology & Behavioral Science
    "Edited by high caliber experts, and contributed to by quality researchers and practitioners in psychology and related fields. Includes over 500 topical entries Each entry features suggested readings and extensive cross-referencing Accessible to students and general readers."
  • Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology
    REF GN502 .E63 2006

    "The Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology is the first authoritative guide to synthesize the dynamic field of multicultural psychology. This volume includes entries on a broad array of issues and covers the breadth of psychology viewed through the lens of the racial and ethnic minority experience. The Encyclopedia addresses culture across a broad spectrum of psychological perspectives and includes topics that are relevant to social psychology, cognitive psychology, environmental psychology, cross-cultural psychology, and clinical psychology."
  • Diagnostic & Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-IV
    REF RC455.2.C4 D536 2000

    Classification of mental disorders (e.g., anxiety disorders, eating disorders, paranoid disorders, etc.) & attempts to describe in detail their symptoms, manifestations, & etiology when known.
  • DM-ID : Diagnostic Manual-Intellectual Disability : a Textbook of Diagnosis of Mental Disorders in Persons with Intellectual Disability
    REF RC451.4.M47 D58 2007

    "Grounded in evidence-based methods and supported by the expert-consensus model, this manual offers a broad examination of intellectual disability (ID), including a description of each disorder, a summary of the DSM-IV-TR diagnostic criteria, a review of the literature and research in the field and an evaluation of the evidence supporting its conclusions, a discussion of the etiology and pathogenesis of the disorders, and adaptations of the diagnostic criteria for the ID population. Chapters in the DM-ID cover both special issues, such as assessment and diagnostic procedures and presentations of behavioral phenotypes of genetic disorders, and the individual DSM-IV categories. For each disorder, descriptive text details how to apply diagnostic criteria while tables further illustrate various factors."
  • Merck Manual of Diagnosis & Therapy
    REF RC55 M4

    "The world's most widely used medical reference now features expanded clinical focus on each category of disorder, as well as more specific guidance on patient examinations. The thoroughly revised and updated 18th Edition is packed with essential information on diagnosing and treating medical disorders to help medical professionals deliver the best care to their patients."
  • Clinical Handbook of Psychological Disorders : a Step-by-Step Treatment Manual
    RC489.B4 C584 2008

    "This clinical guide and widely adopted text provides students and practitioners with state-of-the-science guidelines for treating frequently encountered adult disorders. Contributors are leading clinical researchers who present essential background knowledge on each problem, describe the conceptual and empirical bases of their respective approaches, and detail the nuts and bolts of evidence-based assessment and intervention, including vivid clinical illustrations."
  • Handbook of Psychology
    BF121 .H1955 2003

    "Provides psychologists, practitioners, researchers, and students with complete and up-to-date information on the field of psychology. Twelve volumes cover all of the fundamental areas of knowledge in the field."
  • Psychologists' Desk Reference
    "The Desk Reference covers assessment and diagnosis, testing and psychometrics, treatment and psychotherapy, ethical and legal issues, practice management and insurance, and professional resources."
  • Ethics Desk Reference for Psychologist
    BF76.4 .B37 2008

    "An easy-to-use pocket guide that aids psychologists in identifying and avoiding ethical dilemmas. It provides a jargon free summary of each section of the APA Ethics Code (2002), and notes common dilemmas and conflicts that are associated with each section."
  • The ... Mental Measurements Yearbook
    LB3051 .B797

    "The most widely acclaimed reference series in education and psychology, the Mental Measurements Yearbooks are designed to assist professionals in selecting and using standardized tests. The series, initiated in 1938, provides factual information, critical reviews, and comprehensive bibliographic references on the construction, use, and validity of all tests published in English. The objectives of the Mental Measurements Yearbooks have remained essentially the same since the publication of the series. These objectives include provision to test users of: factual information on all known tests published as separates in the English-speaking countries of the world candidly critical test reviews written for the Mental Measurements Yearbooks by qualified professional people representing a variety of viewpoints excerpts of the critical portions of test reviews which have been published in professional journals comprehensive bibliographies, for specific tests, of references which have been examined for their relevance to the particular tests listing of books on measurements and closely related fields, as well as excerpts of evaluative statements from reviews of these books in professional journals."
  • Tests, a Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education, & Business
    BF176 .T43

    "This reference describes tests used in psychology, education, and business. Entries offer information on each test's title and author, population for which the test is intended, a brief description highlighting the test's features, and format, scoring, cost, and availability information."
  • Tests in Print III : an Index to Tests, Test Reviews, & the Literature on Specific Tests
    LB3051 .T46 1983

    "Help test users identify & locate appropriate instruments with this comprehensive index to over 4,000 commercially available tests. Instruments in virtually all areas of testing are listed, including education, psychology, counseling, management, health care, business, career planning, sociology, personnel, child development, vocational interest, social science, research, & dozens of others. Brief descriptions of instruments are given, together with population, administrative & scoring information & a reference list of professional literature citing articles relevant to individual tests. All available versions of a test are noted & pricing provided, along with the name of the publisher. A convenient publishers directory includes current addresses for over 500 test publishers. Special notations are given for instruments that are out-of-print or have been combined with other tests, & entries are indexed by title, classified subject, name & score."
  • Your Career in Psychology : Clinical and Counseling Psychology
    RC467.95 .K88 2006x

    "Your Career in Psychology : Clinical and Counseling Psychology introduces students to the variety of forms that clinical or counseling psychology careers may take. Each chapter presents a career path, including an overview, advantages and disadvantages, and a profile of a psychologist who has chosen that path."
  • Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA Style Manual)
    REF BF 76.7 .P83

    "This valuable reference tool gives writers easy-to-use guidelines on how to prepare manuscripts according to APA style."

The Psychology Research Guide is maintained by Nancy Campbell. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457