Popular Culture (Reference Items)

What are you trying to find?

Popular Culture Reference Items

The following are recommended Reference titles available from Steely Library

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

Reference Items for General Popular Culture, Cinema Studies, and Comic Art available from Steely Library

Credo Reference E-books

A complete reference collection from over 50 publishers, powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide answers - and new connections - in context.
Share this Resource:

General Popular Culture

  • St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
    REF E 169.1 .S764 2000

    Five volumes. "This alphabetically arranged, 2,700-entry encyclopedia treats aspects of U.S. popular culture, defined as 'all the experiences in life shared by people in common, generally though not necessarily disseminated by the mass media.'" (Amazon.com)
  • American Icons: An Encyclopedia of the People, Places, and Things That Have Shaped our Culture
    REF E169.1 .A472155 2006

    "This A-to-Z collection of essays explores more than one hundred people, places, and phenomena that have taken on iconic status in American culture. The scholars and writers whose thoughts are gathered in this unique three-volume set examine these icons through a diverse array of perspectives and fields of expertise." (Publisher's website)
  • Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture
    REF DS 822.5 .E516 2002

    Contains "extensive coverage of Japanese culture spanning from the end of the Japanese Imperialist period in 1945, right up to the present day. Entries range from shorter definitions, histories or biographies to longer overview essays giving an in-depth treatment of major issues." (Publisher's website)
  • Anime Encyclopedia: A Guide to Japanese Animation since 1917
    REF NC 1766.J3 C53 2001

    "[T]he authors review and detail more than 2000 anime films and TV series. Each entry includes a short synopsis, commentary, details about key creative personnel, and evaluation of the work's significance. Over 100 illustrations representing major releases are sprinkled throughout. Other notable features include a selective bibliography, a name/studio index, and a title index that makes it easy to go right to the vital information about a particular example." (Amazon.com)
  • Dictionary of Toys and Games in American Popular Culture
    REF NK 9509.65.U6 A95 2004

    "[A]n A-to-Z reference guide to the playthings that amused us as children and fascinate us as adults. This enlightening—and entertaining—resource, complete with cross-references, provides easy access to concise but detailed descriptions that place toys and board games in their social and cultural contexts." (Amazon.com)

Cinema Studies

  • Film Encyclopedia
    REF PN 1993.45 .K34 2001

    "[T]he most comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia on film. Unrivaled in its scope, this intelligent and engrossing A to Z reference contains nearly 8,000 entries on the artistic, technical, and commercial aspects of movie making …" (Publisher description)
  • Cinema Studies: The Key Concepts
    PN 1993.45 H36 2006eb
    (electronic book)
    "Featuring some 150 entries … explores a wide range of genres, movements, theories and production terms with depth and clarity. This highly readable resource is both authoritative and accessible, making it an ideal guide for film students and a pleasurable reference for film lovers." (Amazon.com)
  • Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory
    REF PN 1993.45 .C75 2001

    "Intended for film students and experienced scholars unfamiliar with the new terminology deriving from the meeting of media and cultural studies, this unique volume presents over 400 signed scholarly entries … that map out the conceptual framework of post-1960 film and television theory." (Amazon.com)
  • The New York Times Film Reviews
    REF PN 1995 .N4

    Reproductions of film reviews from 1913-1994. NYT reviews can also be found online via The Historical New York Times (to 2004). For full- text access to the NYT since 2004, see Academic Search [Lexis-Nexis].
  • Historical Dictionary of French Cinema
    REF PN 1993.5.F7 O83 2007

    "[C]overs the history of French film from the silent era to the present in a concise and up to date volume detailing the development of French cinema and major theoretical and cultural issues related to it. This is done through a chronology, an introduction, photographs, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on many of the major actors, directors, films, movements, producers, and studios associated with French cinema." (Publisher's website)
  • Encyclopedia of Ethnic Groups in Hollywood
    REF PN 1995.9.M56 M85 2003

    "Thematic entries in each section discuss genres, such as combat films, situation comedies, and science fiction series; directors; impersonations; and pressure groups. Each of the sections also has entries related to specific themes or character types, such as Anti-Semitism, Blackface, Geishas, and Half-breed. The encyclopedia concludes with a bibliography and an extensive index." (Amazon.com)
  • Filmography of American History
    REF PN 1995.9.H5 T73 2002

    "Incorporating films from the silent era to the present, the alphabetically arranged entries cover 14 historical periods, from 'America Before the Civil War' to 'Watergate, Political Cynicism, and Hope.' Each entry includes a brief plot summary, setting, cast and crew, running time, and sources for further reading." (Amazon.com)
  • Career in Cinema Studies: Film Critics, Historians, Archivists and Educators
    PN 995.9.P75 C37 2006eb
    (electronic book)
    "A career based on your personal passion for the movies."
  • Your Career in Animation: How to Survive and Thrive
    REF NC 1765 .L48 2006

    "Insiders’ tips from more than 100 big-name animation pros. Great ideas for animators who are starting out or looking for their next job. Packed with information and insights. Perfect for film students and art students." (Amazon.com)
  • Getting a Job in CG: Real Advice from Reel People
    T 385 .W34 2004eb
    (electronic book)
    "Here is the definitive, insider's guide to landing that first critical job or upgrading your current job in the 3D/Effects industry." (Amazon.com)

Comic Art

  • Graphic Novels: A Genre Guide to Comic Books, Manga, and More
    REF PN 6725 .L46 1994x

    "It covers more than 2,400 titles, including series titles, and organizes them according to genre, subgenre, and theme-from super-heroes and adventure to crime, humor, and nonfiction. Reading levels, awards/recognition, and core titles are identified; and tie-ins with gaming, film, anime, and television are noted. ... In addition, it will cite resources for learning more about the genre, and provide information on awards." (Amazon.com)
  • Comic Books and Comic Strips in the United States through 2005: An International Bibliography
    REF PN 6725 .L47 2006x

    "'[C]ategorized by general sources; resources; anthologies; artistic, business, cultural, historical, legal, and ethical aspects; collecting; content; criticism; exhibitions, festivals, and awards; media and popular culture; scholarship and theory; and technical and technological elements. Each category is further arranged by subcategories.'" (Amazon.com)
  • Manga: The Complete Guide
    REF PN 6790.J3 T56 2007

    "Includes incisive, full-length reviews of stories and artwork; titles rated from zero to four stars; guidelines for age-appropriateness; profiles of the biggest names in manga, including CLAMP, Osamu Tezuka, Rumiko Takahashi, and many others; the facts on the many kinds of manga; an overview of the manga industry and its history; and a detailed bibliography and a glossary of manga terms."
  • Comics: Between the Panels
    REF PN 6707 .D85 1998

    "Via alphabetical entries, the authors take an idiosyncratic look at everything from creators, characters, and companies to conventions and collectors." (Amazon.com)
  • Animation, Caricature, and Gag and Political Cartoons in the United States and Canada: An International Bibliography
    REF NC 1420 .A5 1994x

    "One of four volumes dealing with the world of comic art … the work consists of numerous resources, including an annotated directory of 66 comic art-related periodicals; a section of comic art functions, activities, and relationships with various socio-cultural phenomena, such as education, eroticism, ethnicity, race, social consciousness, and violence; as well as historical and contemporary parts on animation, caricature, gag cartoons, and political cartoons." (Amazon.com)

The Popular Culture Research Guide is maintained by Allen Ellis. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457