Steely Library phone number: 859.572.5457
Political Science (Web Resources)
What are you trying to find?
Political Science Web Resources
The Web has a variety of sites useful to the political science student. Here are just a few recommended ones:
Government and Organization Websites
(These websites will take you to a government or organization's website.)
U.S. government information and services on the Web.
- United Nations
The English language website for the United Nations. Contains information about its programs, policies, and international efforts.
- International Monetary Fund
The English language website for the International Monetary Fund, an association of 187 countries. Contains information about its policies, programs, and meetings.
- World Bank
Home page for the World Bank. Includes access to international datasets.
- International Atomic Energy Association
The association's website which includes information about nuclear energy, energy safety, and access to certain publications.
- European Union
Homepage for the European Union.
Governmental Information Websites
(These websites will help you locate governmental information.)
National Journal Group is the leading source of nonpartisan reporting on the current political environment and emerging policy trends.
- American President an Online Reference Resource
A comprehensive collection of material about the Presidents of the United States and the history of the presidency. This web site features essays about the President's life before, during, and after each presidential term. It additionally provides information about the First Lady and cabinet officials of each administration. A collection of essays on the President at Work delves into the function, responsibilities, and organization of the modern presidency and traces the history and evolution of presidential duties. This site was created by the University of Virginia's Miller Center of Public Affairs.
- Federal Register
Access to many publications of the U.S. government, including the Budget, the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, the Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional publications, Economic Indicators, the U.S. Code, the Constitution, the Economic Report of the President, the Federal Register, Public Papers of the Presidents, and the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, Supreme Court decisions, and the U.S. Government Manual.
This site provides legislative information from the Library of Congress. Search for bills, activities, congressional records, treaties, and other government resources.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
This site provides statistics on the social, economic, and political aspects of the United States.
- Pew Research Center
The center describes itself as a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes, and trends shaping America and the world.
- US Congressional Documents and Debates
From the Law Library of Congress. Contains Congressional records from 1774-1875, as well as bills, documents, and debates.
- Public Agenda Online
Provides information on a number of issues confronting the U.S., such as education, foreign policy, and immigration.
- Political Database of the Americas
This website provides political information for the continents of both North America and South America. Data includes constitutions, electoral laws, legislative and executive branch information, and election statistics.
- American National Election Studies
"The American National Election Studies (ANES) produces high quality data on voting, public opinion, and political participation to serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers, and journalists who want to better understand the theoretical and empirical foundations of national election outcomes."
- Project Vote Smart
Government and politics by topic, including information on all three branches of the federal government, legislators at state and federal levels, election results, speeches, courts and laws, historic documents, and links for current political issues.
- Election Guide
International in scope, this site provides information on verified election results including a description of the government structure, voting and demographic data, and a breakdown of votes cast in each election.
- Roll Call
"The Newspaper of Capitol Hill," Roll Call, since 1996, has offered this companion Web edition to the newsprint version. A source for Congressional news and information, the Website posts leading stories, editorials, election news, commentary, cartoons, and classifieds.
- National Priorities Project
National Priorities Project (NPP) is a 501(c)(3) research organization that analyzes and clarifies federal data so that people can understand and influence how their tax dollars are spent. Located in Northampton, MA, since 1983, NPP focuses on the impact of federal spending and other policies at the national, state, congressional district, and local levels.
- American Political Science Association
The American Political Science Association, founded in 1903, is the leading professional organization for the study of political science and serves more than 15,000 members in over 80 countries.
- Constitute: The World's Constitutions to Read, Search, and Compare
The website allows users to compare the wording and provisions of the constitutions of the world's countries.
Steely Library phone number: 859.572.5457