Political Science (Reference Items)

What are you trying to find?


Political Science Reference Items

The following are recommended Reference titles available from Steely Library

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

Credo Reference E-books

A complete reference collection from over 50 publishers, powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide answers - and new connections - in context.
Share this Resource:
http://library.nku.edu/databases/credoreferenceebooks.html


  • Political Handbook of the World
    REF JF 37.P61x

    This source provides government information for more than 200 countries and organizations world-wide. Steely library carries the 2008 version of this handbook, but copies go back to 2000.
  • Almanac of American Politics
    REF JK 271 .B343 2004x

    This reference source provides information on U.S. senators, representatives and governors, including their records and election results. It also provides information on each leader’s state and district.
  • Encyclopedia of Political Communication
    REF JA 85 .E64 2008

    "[D]iscusses the major theoretical approaches to the field, including direct and limited effects theories, agenda-setting theories, sociological theories, framing and priming theories, and other past and present conceptualizations. With nearly 600 entries, this resource pays considerable attention to important political messages such as political speeches, televised political advertising, political posters and print advertising, televised political debates, and Internet sites."
  • Statistical History of the American Electorate
    REF JK 1967 .R87 2001

    This source provides statistical tables that examine many aspects of American voting, including the accuracy and inaccuracy of election data, suffrage and election laws, voting trends and party affiliations.
  • America Votes
    REF JK 1967 .A8

    This reference source provides election results by state for general, primary and special elections in the races for president, house, senate and governor. It also provides county and district maps. Steely’s most recent copy comes from 2005/2006 elections, but editions go back to the 1972 elections.
  • Congressional Staff Directory
    REF JK 1012 .C65

    This publication provides contact and biographical information for members of the House and Senate. It also provides state and district information. This is an annual publication. Steely carries the two most current years.
  • Encyclopedia of Governmental Advisory Organizations
    REF JK 468.C7 E5 2008

    This source provides directory information for more than 7,700 governmental advisory organizations, including presidential and congressional advisory commissions, public advisory committees, interagency committees and other government boards, panels, task forces, etc.
  • The Encyclopedia of the United States Congress
    REF JK 1067 .E63 1995

    This four-volume set has more than 1,000 entries on key events, issues, people and the history that helped shaped congress.
  • Encyclopedia of the American Presidency
    REF JK 511 .E53 1994

    This four volume set provides more than 1,000 entries on not only the American presidents, but issues and events that played a role in the presidency’s evolution.
  • Women in the United States Congress, 1917-1972
    REF JK 1030.A2 E5 1974

    This reference source provides biographical information and accomplishments of women who served in the U.S. Congress between 1917 and 1972. Each entry also includes a bibliography.
  • Landmark Debates in Congress: From the Declaration of Independence to the War in Iraq
    REF KF 4945 .S65 2009

    'Landmark Debates in Congress is a one-volume resource to more than 50 pivotal congressional debates. From colonial independence and individual rights to slavery, territorial expansion, and presidential powers, debates include the Bill of Rights (1789), the Revenue Act of 1894 (the origin of the income tax), FDR's court-packing plan (1937), Medicare and Medicaid (1965), Richard Nixon's 1974 impeachment, and the Iraq War resolution (2002).' (CQpress.com)
  • The State of the Union Messages of the Presidents, 1790-1966
    REF J 81 .C66

    This three-volume set documents the annual State of the Union speech delivered by presidents between 1790 and 1966.
  • Opportunities in Social Science Careers
    REF HF5382 .M35 1997x

    Includes a chapter on career guidance in political science.



The Political Science Research Guide is maintained by Robert Zai III. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457