Philosophy & Religious Studies (Web Resources)

What are you trying to find?

Philosophy & Religious Studies Web Resources

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

The Web has a variety of sites useful to the philosophy and/or religious studies student. Here are just a few recommended ones:

  • Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
    Extensive, peer-reviewed reference source, featuring numerous entries on philosophers and philosophical concepts.
  • Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
    Peer-reviewed encyclopedia of philosophy, hosted by the University of Tennessee at Martin.
  • Guide to Philosophy on the Internet
    Directory of philosophy-related web resources collected by Peter Suber of Earlham College. No longer updated.
  • Encyclopedia of Religion & Society
    Reference source covering social scientific perspectives on religion.
  • Virtual Religion Index
    Directory of religion resources available on the Internet, organized by subject.
  • Librarians' Internet Index
    Directory of Internet resources selected by librarians. Contains descriptions of and links to hundreds of philosophy-related & religion-related sites.
  • Association of Religion Data Archives
    "The ARDA allows you to interactively explore the highest quality data on American and international religion using online features for generating national profiles, GIS maps, church membership overviews, denominational heritage trees, tables, charts, and other reports. Over 450 surveys and other data collections are available for online preview and virtually all can be downloaded free of charge."
  • Exploring Religions
    Sponsored by the Religious Studies Program at the University of Wyoming. "Contains an overview of the five major world religions: Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, and Judaism. Information includes cosmos, organization, time and worship, text and tales, timeline, religious life, glossary, terms, maps, links, and life stages."

The Philosophy & Religious Studies Research Guide is maintained by Nancy Campbell. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457