Steely Library phone number: 859.572.5457
Medicine & Nursing (Web Resources)
What are you trying to find?
Medicine and Nursing Web Resources
The Web has a variety of sites useful to students. Here are just a few recommended ones:
- Drug Watch
Features information on medication safety and drug side effects as well as up-to-date FDA alerts.
- NLM Gateway
Provides a global search of The National Library of Medicine's Pubmed, Pubmed Central, and Medline Plus, for health-related government information.
- Hardin MD
A "Meta Directory" from the Hardin Library at the University of Iowa, this site offers a "huge, up-to-date collection of medical images and information."
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
"CDC's primary online communication channel. Annually, there are close to 500 million page views to the site, averaging 41 million page views per month. CDC.gov provides users with credible, reliable health information on: Data and Statistics, Diseases and Conditions, Emergencies and Disasters, Environmental Health, Healthy Living, Injury, Violence and Safety, Life Stages and Populations, Travelers' Health, Workplace Safety and Health, and more… "
- Science.gov: Health and Medicine
A "gateway to government science information and research results. Currently in its fifth generation, Science.gov provides a search of over 42 scientific databases and 200 million pages of science information with just one query, and is a gateway to over 2000 scientific Websites."
- The Merck Manuals Online Medical Library
"Explains disorders, who is likely to get them, their symptoms, how they're diagnosed, how they might be prevented, and how they can be treated; also provides information about prognosis."
- The National Center for Health Statistics
A "rich source of information about America's health. As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, we compile statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of our people. We are a unique public resource for health information - a critical element of public health."
- United States National Library of Medicine: Subject Guides on Selected Topics
"The User Services Unit of the NLM Reference and Web Services Section, Public Services Division, compiled this set of subject guides. The Guides are meant to serve as research starting points for health professionals, researchers, librarians, students, and others. Each guide lists a variety of resources, many of which are Internet accessible and free. The guides are not meant to be comprehensive but to introduce some of the major resources available on each topic."
From the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation and "designed to provide free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data on all 50 states."
- Statistical Abstracts of the United States: Health & Nutrition
"This section presents statistics on health expenditures and insurance coverage, including Medicare and Medicaid, medical personnel, hospitals, nursing homes and other care facilities, injuries, diseases, disability status, nutritional intake of the population, and food consumption."
- Hospital Statistics by State
From the American Hospital Directory, "Statistics for non-federal, short-term, acute care hospitals are summarized by state. Data are based on each hospital's most recent Medicare cost report."
- Northern Kentucky Health Department: Health Data
Includes data for Boone, Campbell, Grant, and Kenton Counties.
- MedlinePlus Medical Dictionary
"A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine [and the] National Institutes of Health." Includes a tutorial on "Understanding Medical Words."
- Medical Pronunciations
From abetalipoproteinemia to zalcitabine, an audio resource for medical pronunciations.
From the Merck Manuals Online Medical Library.
- Medical Images on the Web
Medical images from the University of Nebraska Medical Center's McGoogan Library of Medicine.
- Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body
"The Bartleby.com edition of Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color—from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries ranging from the Antrum of Highmore to the Zonule of Zinn."
The "consumer Web portal of PDR Network which includes the Physicians' Desk Reference (PDR) and the Health Care Notification Network (HCNN) ... offers consumer-friendly explanations of disease states and conditions as well as the safe and effective use of prescription and non-prescription drugs as well as herbal medicines."
- RxList: The Internet Drug Database
An "online medical resource dedicated to offering detailed and current pharmaceutical information on brand and generic drugs."
- National Electronic Injury Surveillance System Online
From the U.S. consumer Product Safety Commission, "a national probability sample of hospitals in the U.S. and its territories. Patient information is collected from each NEISS hospital for every emergency visit involving an injury associated with consumer products. From this sample, the total number of product-related injuries treated in hospital emergency rooms nationwide can be estimated. This web access to NEISS allows certain estimates to be retrieved on-line."
- National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC)
"A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines."
- National Association of Community Health Centers
This link is to the Research and Data Section for Kentucky.
- Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce
A "collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which provides timely, convenient access to selected public health resources on the Internet."
"The Medpedia Project is a long-term, worldwide project to evolve a new model for sharing and advancing knowledge about health, medicine and the body among medical professionals and the general public. This model is founded on providing a free online technology platform that is collaborative, interdisciplinary and transparent."
- Online Journal of Issues in Nursing
A free "peer-reviewed publication that provides a forum for discussion of the issues inherent in current topics of interest to nurses and other health care professionals. ... The journal is indexed by Medline, CINAHL and Scopus.
- National Institute of Nursing Research
Provides information on funding initiatives, links to nursing organizations for various specialties, and publications from national conferences and meetings.
- American Nurses Association
Dedicated to "the only full-service professional organization representing the interests of the nation's 3.1 million registered nurses through its constituent member nurses associations, its organizational affiliates, and its workforce advocacy affiliate, the Center for American Nurses."
- National League for Nursing (NLN)
"Dedicated to excellence in nursing education, the National League for Nursing is the preferred membership organization for nurse faculty and leaders in nursing education."
- National Coalition of Ethnic and Minority Nurse Associations
"The site provides announcements about NCEMNA's unique programs and activities, as well as direct links to each member association's Web site."
- IOM Reports
The Institute of Medicine (IOM) is an independent, non-profit organization that works outside of government to provide unbiased and authoritative advice to decision makers and the public.
Established in 1970, the IOM is the health arm of the National Academy of Sciences, which was chartered under President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. Nearly 150 years later, the National Academy of Sciences has expanded into what is collectively known as the National Academies, which comprises the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the National Research Council, and the IOM.
- National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
One of "26 agencies comprising the National Institutes of Health. The Web site provides access to resources aimed at health care consumers and practitioners, and individuals engaged in research. NCCAM focuses on diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are generally not considered part of conventional medicine." (In English and Spanish)
Steely Library phone number: 859.572.5457