Medicine & Nursing (Reference Items)

What are you trying to find?


Medicine and Nursing Reference Items

The following are recommended Reference titles available from Steely Library

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

Credo Reference E-books

A complete reference collection from over 50 publishers, powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide answers - and new connections - in context.
Share this Resource:
http://library.nku.edu/databases/credoreferenceebooks.html


Encyclopedia of Nursing Research
REF RT 81.5.E53 2006
Written by the world's leading authorities in nursing research, this volume presents key terms and concepts in nursing research comprehensively explained by expert contributors.
Nursing Theorists and their Work
REF RT 84.5N9 2006
In-depth descriptions and analyses of 31 specific nursing theories. Each chapter outlines and summarizes the theory's most significant ideas, with content-specific vocabulary. Extensive references and bibliography.
Stedman's Abbreviations, Acronyms, & Symbols
REF R123 .S69 2003
"For the medical language specialist working in any aspect of medical documentation ... provides a complete guide to quick verification of spelling and meanings of abbreviations, acronyms, and symbols used in all specialties. It contains over 70,000 entries." (Amazon.com)
AHA Hospital Statistics
REF RA 981.A2 A6234
From the American Hospital Association, "The comprehensive reference source for analysis and comparison of hospital trends."
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
REF RC 55.M4 18th ed.
"The most widely used medical text in the world and the hypochondriac's bible, the Merck has the lowdown on the vast expanse of human diseases, disorders and injuries, as well as their symptoms and recommended therapy. It's intended for physicians and medical students..." (Amazon.com)
Nursing Diagnosis Reference Manual
REF RT 48.6.S66 2005
Helps nursing students and practicing nurses prepare care plans accurately and efficiently for every NANDA-approved nursing diagnosis. The book features a life-cycle format, with sections on adult, adolescent, child, maternal-neonatal, and geriatric health.
Mosby's Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference
REF RB 38.2 P337
A "comprehensive and up-to-date handbook that offers clinically-relevant information on laboratory and diagnostic tests ... Each test entry includes, where relevant: alternate or abbreviated test names; type of test; normal findings; possible critical values; test explanation and related physiology; contraindications; potential complications; interfering factors; procedure and patient care (before, during, and after); and, abnormal findings. Related tests are extensively cross-referenced throughout the book." (Alibris.com)
Clinical Handbook of Psychological Disorders: A Step-by-Step Treatment Manual
REF RC489.B4 C584 2008
"[T]his clinical guide and widely adopted text presents state-of-the-science guidelines for treating frequently encountered adult disorders. The Handbook is unique in its focus on evidence-based practice and its attention to the most pressing question asked by students and practitioners--"How do I do it?" Leading clinical researchers provide essential background knowledge on each problem, describe the conceptual and empirical bases of their respective approaches, and illustrate the nuts and bolts of evidence-based assessment and intervention." (Amazon.com)
DM-ID: Diagnostic Manual-Intellectual Disability: A Textbook of Diagnosis of Mental Disorders in Persons with Intellectual Disability
REF RC 451.4.M47 D58 2007
"Grounded in evidence-based methods and supported by the expert-consensus model, this manual offers a broad examination of intellectual disability (ID), including a description of each disorder, a summary of the DSM-IV-TR diagnostic criteria, a review of the literature and research in the field and an evaluation of the evidence supporting its conclusions, a discussion of the etiology and pathogenesis of the disorders, and adaptations of the diagnostic criteria for the ID population."
Encyclopedia of Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorders
REF RJ 506.H9 K447 2009
"[A]lmost 170 articles on topics directly and indirectly related to attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD). Entries cover people, tests, symptoms, issues, approaches, treatments, research, and more. Examples include Adolescence, Feingold diet, Food additives, History of ADHD, Impulsivity, Methylphenidate, Neurotransmitters, and No Child Left Behind Act." (Amazon.com)
Atlas of Radiologic Anatomy
REF RC 78.2W53 2004
"[I]ncorporates the latest technological advances in radiologic anatomy, including increased resolution and numerous new images in computed tomography and magnetic resonance." (Amazon.com)
The Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals
REF RS51 .M4 2001x
"Concise and authoritative reference containing a diverse collection of more than 10,000 monographs. More than 4,000 monographs cover pharmaceuticals and drugs, 2,000 cover naturally occurring substances and plants, 1,000 focus on elements and inorganic chemicals, and almost 1,000 pertain to compounds of agricultural significance." (Amazon.com)
Buzzed: The Straight Facts About the Most Used and Abused Drugs, from Alcohol to Ecstasy
REF RM 316.K84 2008
"The third edition of the essential, accessible source for understanding how drugs work and their effects on body and behavior; revised and updated, includes the most recent discoveries about drugs, including new information on the energy drinks craze, prescription drugs such as OxyContin and Ambien, and the date-rape drug GHB. Scientifically accurate and easy to read, this no-nonsense handbook gives the most balanced, objective information available" (Books in Print).
The Cancer Dictionary
REF RC 262.A39
The authors "sought to compile all the terms the average cancer patient might encounter during the course of his or her illness and to define them in language a lay reader could understand ... Arranged in an alphabetical format, their dictionary contains over 2500 entries for types of cancer, drug therapies, surgical procedures, and other cancer treatments. Risk factors, diagnostic tests and procedures, and other terms related to cancer are also included."
Holistic Nursing: A Handbook for Practice
REF RT 42.H65 2005
Guides nurses in the art and science of holistic nursing and healing using self-assessments, relaxation, imagery, nutrition, exercise, and aromatherapy.
A Career As a Registered Nurse (RN): Helping Others By Combining Science With Compassion
RT 82 .C37 2006eb (electronic book)
"Here are examples of general duties assigned to RNs, based on their job title or practice setting."


The Medicine & Nursing Research Guide is maintained by Robert Zai III. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457