Maps (Books & Media)

What are you looking for?


Maps Books & Media

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

For locating specific items, including videos in the Media Collection, using the library's catalog, NKUIRE, is recommended. Keyword, Author, Title, and Subject are among the ways you can search.

For Non-Print Media (videos, DVDs, CDs, slides, etc.), Consider the "Media Searches" tab atop the NKUIRE search page.

WorldCat is the world's most comprehensive bibliography, with more than 49 million bibliographic records representing 400 languages. Covers information from 2100 B.C.E. to the present. Includes holdings information from libraries across the world. Now includes the Library of Congress Subject Headings as its thesaurus. If Steely Library does not own a title, it may be requested through SourceFinder.

Browsing for books in Steely's Reference and Circulating collections can be very useful

To locate our maps in NKUIRE, use the Advanced Search and use the term "map" or "atlas". For specific maps such as census, population, or economic maps, include those terms in your search for more precise results.

To locate government maps, such as Census maps, use the Advanced Search in NKUIRE and change the Library Location to Steely's Government Documents.

Steely's Special Collections & Archives has many maps available. To locate those maps, please contact Special Collections & Archives.


Browsing for books in Steely's Reference and Circulating collections can be very useful. For maps, the following call number areas are suggested:



The Maps Research Guide is maintained by Nancy Campbell. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457