Literature (Reference Items)

What are you trying to find?


Literature Reference Items

The following are recommended Reference titles available from Steely Library

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

Credo Reference E-books

A complete reference collection from over 50 publishers, powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide answers - and new connections - in context.
Share this Resource:
http://library.nku.edu/databases/credoreferenceebooks.html


  • Contemporary Authors
    Location: Ref PS 128 .C6
    Coverage: 1974-present A regularly updated reference source providing brief biographical information for over 30,000 authors. Bibliographies are included.
  • Critical Survey Series
    This series provides biographical and critical essays on novelists, short story writers, and poets, with bibliographies and additional essays on specific topics related to the genre.
  • Magill's Literary Annual
    Print Location: Ref PN 44 .M3352
    Coverage: 1977-present Provides reviews of 200 outstanding books published in the U.S. each year. Includes fiction, poetry, literary criticism, biography, history and other fields. Bibliographies are included. The library has additional handbooks for special topics, including Southern writers, women writers, African-American writers, and gothic novels. Ask at the third floor Public Service Desk for more information.
  • Contemporary Literary Criticism
    Location: Ref PN 771 .C59
    Excerpts from criticism of novelists, poets, short story writers, and others, ranging from the first published appraisals to current evaluations. The Contemporary set includes writers now living or who died after 1959. Citations to the original sources are provided along with a brief biographical and critical introduction for each author.
  • Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism
    Location: Ref PN 761 .N5
    Excerpts from criticism of novelists, poets, short story writers, and others, ranging from the first published appraisals to current evaluations. The 19th Century set covers those who died between 1800 and 1899. Citations to the original sources are provided along with a brief biographical and critical introduction for each author.
  • Twentieth Century Literary Criticism
    Location: Ref PN 771 .G27
    Excerpts from criticism of novelists, poets, short story writers, and others, ranging from the first published appraisals to current evaluations. The 20th Century set those who died between 1900 and 1960. Citations to the original sources are provided along with a brief biographical and critical introduction for each author.
  • Poetry Criticism
    Location: Ref PN 1010 .P499
    Critical excerpts and biographical information on the world's most widely studied poets.
  • Short Story Criticism
    Location: Ref PN 3373 .S382x
    Critical excerpts and biographical information on major short story writers of all nationalities.
  • MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th edition
    Location: LB2369 .G53 2009
    This guide is intended for scholars and professional writers.
  • Careers in Writing
    Location: REF HF5382 .C279 2001x.
    Part of the VGM Professional Career Series, this book features nine chapters on various categories of writing opportunities.
  • Greenwood Encyclopedia of Folktales and Fairy Tales
    Location: REF GR 74 .G73 2008
    "This scholarly compendium is a well-organized, well-documented introduction to the evolving field of folklore and fairy-tale studies. The scope is multicultural and spans antiquity through modern day." (Booklist)
  • Encyclopedia of Hispanic American Literature
    Location: REF PS 153.H56 R36 2008
    "Part of Facts On File’s Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Literature series, this volume focuses on the major works, notable authors, and essential concepts and movements in Hispanic American literature. For this volume, the major subgroups of this category are Spanish American Caribbean; Puerto Rican; and Cuban, Dominican, and Mexican American (i.e., Chicano) literatures." (Booklist)
  • Analytic Dictionary of English Etymology: An Introduction
    Location: REF PE 1580 .L53 2008
    "This work introduces renowned linguistics scholar Anatoly Liberman’s comprehensive dictionary and bibliography of the etymology of English words." (amazon.com)



The Literature Research Guide is maintained by Robert Zai III. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457