Journalism (Reference Items)

What are you trying to find?

Journalism Reference Items

The following are recommended Reference titles available from Steely Library

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

Credo Reference E-books

A complete reference collection from over 50 publishers, powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide answers - and new connections - in context.
Share this Resource:

Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory

Provides publication, subscription and indexing data on over 210,000 regularly published and irregularly issued serials including over 47,000 cessations since 1979. This reference provides purchasing and contact information (conventional and electronic) for over 90,000 publishers in 200 countries.

1932 - present

View Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory
Share this Resource:

  • Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media
    Identifies specific print and broadcast sources of news and advertising for trade, business, labor, and professionals. Arrangement is geographic with a thumbnail description of each local market. Indexes are classified (by format and subject matter) and alphabetical (by name and keyword).
  • Encyclopedia of American Journalism
    REF PN 4855 .E53 2008

    [E]xplores the distinctions found in print media, radio, television, and the internet … The evolution of journalism's ethical standards is discussed, as well as the important libel and defamation trials that have influenced journalistic practice, its legal protection, and legal responsibilities. (
  • Editor and Publisher International Year Book
    REF PN 4700 .E4

    "The Directory of Newspaper Industry Professionals," in three parts. Part 1 is a directory of daily newspapers, including associations and trade organizations; Part 2 covers weeklies, including community, special, and free publications; Part 3 is a "who's where" contact directory.
  • Dictionary of Publishing and Printing
    Z 118 .C58 2006eb
    (electronic resource)
    REF Z 118 .C58 2006x
    (print version)
    "[I]ncludes over 8,000 words, expressions, and terminology relating to the publishing and printing industries and allied trades. Topics covered include: papermaking, ink, printing and binding machinery, bookselling, typesetting, desktop publishing and design, copyrights, editing, commissioning, contracts, rights, and electronic publishing." (
  • English for Journalists
    PE 1112 .H53 2007eb
    (electronic resource)
    "[A]n invaluable guide not only to the basics of English, but to those aspects of writing, such as reporting speech, house style and jargon, which are specific to the language of journalism." (
  • Historical Dictionary of War Journalism
    REF PN4784.W37 R68 1997

    "Entries cover reporters, photographers, and artists who represented a newspaper, magazine, radio, or television station, or another news source as well as significant events and terms relating to war reporting from 1846 to the recent Gulf War and Yugoslavian conflict." (
  • Biographical Dictionary of American Newspaper Columnists
    REF PN 4871 .B57 1995

    Profiles "an elite group of journalists: 600 American newspaper columnists, some local, others self-syndicated, from the Civil War to the present. Riley's well-crafted...sketches are arranged alphabetically and contain as applicable birth and death dates, accomplishments, education, career summary, column information, publications, and references." (
  • Press and Speech Freedoms in America, 1619-1995: A Chronology
    REF PN 4738 .P74 1997

    "This book traces the struggles, the press, and the contending views from 1760 to 1960 and the 35 years of commitment to freedom from 1960 to 1995. Arranged by year, the entries in the chronology include the views and comments of persons in favor of or opposed to freedom of speech, events that affected press freedoms, and technological changes that have had an impact." (
  • Careers in Journalism
    PN 4797 .G58 2005eb
    (electronic resource)
    "[D]etails the responsibilities, education and training required, and employment outlooks for the journalism field." (

The Journalism Research Guide is maintained by Allen Ellis. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457