World History (Web Resources)

What are you trying to find?

World History Web Resources

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

  • Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
    From Fordham University in New York, "includes links to visual and aural material … [with] emphasis … on access to primary source texts for educational purposes. This site focuses on online texts, which, for the most part, means public domain texts translated more than 75 years ago." See also the Internet Modern History Sourcebook.
  • EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
    "These links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history."
  • Voice of the Shuttle: History Page
    An incredible selection of links, from "General History Resources" to "World History Sources" to "History as a Career," to …
  • Academic Info World History Gateway
    "An independent online subject directory of over 25,000 hand-picked educational resources for high school and college students as well as a directory of online degree programs and admissions test preparation resources (SAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, GMAT, USMLE, TOEFL) … Contains World History Resources, and information about Topical and Country and Regional Histories."
  • Top Islamic Websites
    "A collection of the best Islamic websites and resources on the net."
  • Voices of the Holocaust
    "Consists of oral history testimonies gathered from Jewish men and women who came to live in Britain during or after WWII. These testimonies are personal, individual, true stories, that describe the hardships of life during Hitler's reign."
  • The Story of Africa
    "Tells the history of the continent from an African perspective. Africa's top historians take a fresh look at the events and characters that have shaped the continent from the origins of humankind to the end of South African apartheid."
  • WW II Resources
    "Primary source materials on the Web. Original documents regarding all aspects of the war."
  • The Virtual Vietnam Archive
    From Texas Tech University, "contains over 2.7 million pages of scanned materials [including] documents, photographs, slides, negatives, oral histories, artifacts, moving images, sound recordings, maps, and collection finding aids. All non-copyrighted and digitized materials are available for users to download …with new items added every day."

The World History Research Guide is maintained by Allen Ellis. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457