World History (Books & Media)

What are you trying to find?

World History Books & Media

How to Find books, videos, and other materials in Steely Library.

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

For locating specific items, including videos in the Media Collection, using the library's catalog, NKUIRE, is recommended. Keyword, Author, Title, and Subject are among the ways you can search.

For Non-Print Media (videos, DVDs, CDs, slides, etc.), Consider the "Media Searches" tab atop the NKUIRE search page.

WorldCat is the world's most comprehensive bibliography, with more than 49 million bibliographic records representing 400 languages. Covers information from 2100 B.C.E. to the present. Includes holdings information from libraries across the world. Now includes the Library of Congress Subject Headings as its thesaurus. If Steely Library does not own a title, it may be requested through SourceFinder.

Browsing for books in Steely's Reference and Circulating collections can be very useful

For World History, the following call number areas are suggested:

  • D - History (General)
  • D16.14 - Oral History
  • D25-27 - Military and Naval History
  • D900-2009 - Europe (General)
  • D501-680 - World War I
  • D731-838 - World War II
  • DA - Great Britain
  • DAW - Central Europe
  • DC - France
  • DC139-249 - France, Revolutionary and Napoleonic period, 1789-1815
  • DD - Germany
  • DE - Greco-Roman World
  • DF - Greece
  • DG - Italy
  • DJK - Eastern Europe (General)
  • DK - Russia. Soviet Union. Former Soviet Republics - Poland
  • DP - Spain, Portugal
  • DS - Asia
  • DS35.3-35.77 - The Islamic World
  • DS36-39.2 - Arab countries
  • DS41-66 - Middle East; Southwestern Asia; Ancient Orient; Arab East; Near East
  • DS79.7 - Persian Gulf War
  • DS101-151 - Israel (Palestine). The Jews
  • DS557-559.9 - Vietnamese Conflict
  • DS701-799.9 - China
  • DS801-897 - Japan
  • DS918-921.8 - Korean War
  • DT - Africa
  • DU - Oceania (Australia, South Seas)
  • F1001-1145.2 - Canada
  • F1201-3799 - Latin America
  • F1201-1392 - Mexico
  • F1421-1440 - Central America
  • F2201-3799 - South America
  • PN1995.2 and PN1995.9.H5 - History and Film
  • Check out Humanities E-Book, a digital collection of over 1,700 full-text high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars, offered by the ACLS [American Council of Learned Societies] in collaboration with twelve learned societies, nearly 95 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan’s Scholarly Publishing Office.

The World History Research Guide is maintained by Allen Ellis. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457