World History (Reference Items)

What are you trying to find?


World History Reference Items

The following are recommended Reference titles available from Steely Library

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

Credo Reference E-books

A complete reference collection from over 50 publishers, powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide answers - and new connections - in context.
Share this Resource:
http://library.nku.edu/databases/credoreferenceebooks.html


  • World History Encyclopedia
    REF D 9 .W67 2011

    "Within each era, the encyclopedia highlights pivotal interactions and exchanges among cultures within eight broad thematic categories: population and environment, society and culture, migration and travel, politics and statecraft, economics and trade, conflict and cooperation, thought and religion, science and technology ... packed with images, primary resources, current citations, and extensive teaching and learning support." (From the back cover)
  • Encyclopedia of Invasions and Conquests from Ancient Times to the Present
    REF D 25.A2 D38 2006

    "A comprehensive guide to over 150 invasions, conquests, battles and occupations, from the ancient times to the present … this text offers complete coverage of the most current invasions and those dating back to the earliest times. Plus, a brand new Historical Timeline has been added along with over 70 brand new Maps. Categories of entries include countries, invasions and conquests, and individuals. In addition to covering the military aspects of invasions and conquests, entries cover some of the political, economic, and cultural aspects, for example, the effects of a conquest on the invading country’s political and monetary system and in its language and religion. Each chapter provides a map to help readers locate key areas and geographical features, and bibliographical references appear at the end of each entry. Other useful features include hundreds of Maps, cross-references, a cumulative bibliography and a comprehensive subject index." (Publisher's web site)
  • Ancient Europe 8000 B.C. - A.D. 1000: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World
    REF D 62 .A52 2004

    Two volumes. "Coverage extends from prehistoric origins through the early Middle Ages (8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000) when tribal movements helped define the end of ancient culture and the rise of the modern European world. Arrange topically and chronologically … features include 200 illustrations (including the black & white images, color images, and line drawings); 70 maps; a chronology; index; two eight-page color inserts; cartographic endpapers; glossary of key archaeological terms and more." (Publisher's web site)
  • Europe 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World
    REF D 209 .E97 2004

    Six volumes. "The set's 1,082 articles, written by eminent scholars, cover major topics in art, government and education as well as providing biographical entries on key figures of the period. In addition, the set covers topics specific to the era, such as apocalypticism, guilds, food riots, royal mistresses and lovers, the Spanish inquisition, Utopia and others. Each volume includes an eight-page color insert. Features include approximately 575 black-and-white photographs, 60 maps, a year-by-year chronology, a topical outline, and a comprehensive index." (Publisher's web site)
  • Europe Since 1945: An Encyclopedia
    REF D 1051 .E97 2001x

    "This is a comprehensive reference work of some 1700 entries in two volumes. Its scope includes all of Europe and the successor states to the former Soviet Union, with an emphasis on politics, governments, organizations, people and events crucial to an understanding of postwar Europe." (Amazon.co.uk)
  • Encyclopedia of World War II: A Political, Social and Military History
    REF D 740 .E516 2005

    Five volumes. "Over 1,500 A-Z entries, including extensive biographies of individuals; studies of battles; details of weapons systems, and analyses of wartime conferences, crucial battlefield and diplomatic turning points, and lingering historical controversies … In-depth coverage of the causes of the war and its effects on life on the home fronts, including morale and attitudes, political events, and the economies and work forces inside the nations in conflict." (From the back cover)
  • Encyclopedia of African History
    D T20 .E53 2005eb
    (electronic book)
    REF D T20 .E53 2005
    (print version)
    Three volumes. An "A-Z reference resource on the history of the entire African continent … In nearly 1,100 entries, the Encyclopedia not only examines the well-established topics in African history but also looks at the social, economic, linguistic, anthropological, and political subjects that are being re-evaluated or newly opened for historical analysis by recent research and publication. All entries are at least 1,000 words in length and range from factual narrative entries to thematic and analytical discussions, and combinations of all these. Longer entries range from 3,000 to 5,000 words in length and analyze broader topics such as regional general surveys and wide historical themes including the African Diaspora and Africa in World History." (Publisher's web site)
  • Historical Dictionary of the Arab-Israeli Conflict
    REF DS 119.7 .K85 2006

    A list of acronyms and abbreviations, a chronology, and an introduction providing historical context open the work. The author is careful to present the material objectively, using neutral terms so that readers may draw their own conclusions. The alphabetical entries range in length from one paragraph to five pages. They include people (Mahmoud Abbas, David Ben-Gurion); places (Jerusalem, Russia); and events (Hindawi affair, Nabi Musa riots ). Political parties (Hezbollah, Likud ); organizations (League of Nations ); and a variety of policies (Oslo Accords, Resolution 242 ) also appear. An extensive bibliography with introductory notes will be very useful for researchers." (Amazon.com)
  • Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
    REF D S4 .L48 2002

    Six volumes. "800 contributors from around the world -- including 25 Asian countries -- provide 6,000 articles on Modern Asia from a global perspective. The Encyclopedia's comparative, cross-cultural approach allows students and researchers to identify the similarities and differences among Asian nations and religions. The work focuses on Asia in the modern world -- including Central Asia, the Middle East and the Far East -- and contemporary issues are given full and authoritative treatment. Historical articles emphasize people, places, events and developments that have had a lasting influence on Asia. Articles also cover Asian relations with Western nations, the relations between nations within Asia and also the flow of people, goods and ideas within Asia and globally. Also includes approximately 1,000 black-and-white photographs, maps, sidebars and a comprehensive index." (Publisher's web site)
  • Great Debates at the United Nations: an Encyclopedia of Fifty Key Issues, 1945-2000
    KZ4968 .G67 2001eb
    (electronic book)
    "This important work conveys the crucial concerns the United Nations has tackled in its first half-century. The debates are arranged chronologically "based on the time when they first appeared on the U.N. agenda," from 'Disarmament (1946)' to 'Kosovo Situation (1998).' Each entry consists of an initial paragraph on the significance of the issue; a page or so background information; several pages on the history of the debate, including events before and after the date; and outcome of the issues in later years. Suggestions for further reading at the end enable the user to continue the quest for information." (Amazon.com)
  • Great Jobs for History Majors
    REF HF 5382 .D43 2008x

    "… will help you: Determine the occupation that's best suited for you; Craft a résumé and cover letter that stand out from the rest; Learn from practicing professionals about everyday life on the job; Become familiar with current statistics on salaries and trends within the profession." (Amazon.com)



The World History Research Guide is maintained by Allen Ellis. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457