Steely Library phone number: 859.572.5457
American History (Web Resources)
What are you trying to find?
American History Web Resources
- American History in Video
"The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries."
- The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
"Contains more than 60,000 documents detailing the political and social history of the United States. The collection's holdings include manuscript letters, diaries, maps, photographs, printed books and pamphlets ranging from 1493 through modern times."
- American Memory, from the Library of Congress
"American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning."
- The War of the Rebellion: A Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies
"No serious study of the American Civil War is complete without consulting the Official Records. Affectionately known as the 'OR,' the 128 volumes of the Official Records provide the most comprehensive, authoritative, and voluminous reference on Civil War operations." This is an HTML version of the OR; a PDF Version can be found in Cornell University Library's Making of America site.
- Kentuckiana Digital Library
"From the Kentucky Virtual Library (KYVL). Provides online finding aids and digitized material from archival collections across the state of Kentucky."
- Steely Library Special Collections & Archives
Located on the first floor of Steely Library, the Special Collections & Archives Department houses the University archives as well as documents and artifacts related to Kentucky and Appalachian history and culture, the Civil War, the Ohio River, and other subjects.
- Greater Cincinnati Memory Project
This is a cooperative project of members of the Greater Cincinnati Library Consortium. It has made nearly 6,000 local history images available on the Web.
- Historical United States Census Data Browser 1790-1960
Describes the people and the economy of the U.S. for each state and county from 1790 to 1960.
- Southern History
This site is dedicated to promoting knowledge of the history of the South.
- American Studies Web
From Georgetown University in Washington, DC, "The American Studies Web is the largest directory of web-based resources in the field of American Studies. The current version features a tagging system, as well as rating and commenting. Beyond its function as a search engine, it creates a virtual space for scholarly dialogue and collaboration. Users can now register and participate."
- The American Historical Association
With such useful information as, Careers for History Majors, "the AHA is a nonprofit membership organization founded in 1884 and incorporated by Congress in 1889 for the promotion of historical studies, the collection and preservation of historical documents and artifacts, and the dissemination of historical research. As the largest historical society in the United States, the AHA provides leadership and advocacy for the profession, fights to ensure academic freedom, monitors professional standards, spearheads essential research in the field, and provides resources and services to help its members succeed. The AHA serves more than 14,000 history professionals, representing every historical period and geographical area. AHA members include K –12 teachers, academics at two- and four-year colleges and universities, graduate students, historians in museums, historical organizations, libraries and archives, government and business, as well as independent historians."
Steely Library phone number: 859.572.5457