Geography (Web Resources)

What are you trying to find?


Geography Web Resources

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

  • Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
    University of Texas at Austin's collection of over 230,000 maps covering every area of the world. Includes historical maps, links to city maps, and other cartographic resources in electronic format.
  • INFOMINE: Scholarly Internet Resource Collections
    The Maps & GIS search page is the geography component of a large, searchable database of scholarly resources created and maintained by a cooperative of librarians at the University of California, California State University, and other libraries.
  • Oddens Bookmarks: Map and Map-Related Sites
    Offers access to over 20,000 cartographic links.
  • Alexandria Digital Library
    Large database of map sites covering all countries of the world. Links provided to maps showing political divisions, demographics, natural resources, etc. Can search by place name, geographic feature (or type of feature), and spatial location.
  • The National Atlas of the USA
    Customize your own maps for printing or viewing; investigate the layers that you can mix and match when making your own map; print pre-formatted maps on a variety of topics, such as socioeconomics -- these are some of the things you can do here, whether for the United States, individual states, or counties.
  • U.S. Gazetteer
    A dictionary of place names provided by the Bureau of the Census.
  • Color Landform Atlas of the United States
    This site offers shaded relief maps, county maps, black and white maps, and other features, plus miscellaneous useful links.
  • Kentucky Atlas and Gazetteer
    From the University of Kentucky, his site features county summaries and relief and physiographic maps.
  • Historical Atlas of Cincinnati
    From NKU's Department of History and Geography, explores the "Relationship Between Transportation and Urban Growth in Cincinnati."
  • GIS.com
    "The Guide to Geographic Information Systems"


The Geography Research Guide is maintained by Allen Ellis. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457