Environmental Science (Web Resources)

What are you trying to find?


Environmental Science Web Resources

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

  • National Library for the Environment
    Contains reports, databases, educational resources, daily environmental and Congressional news, conference information, and continually updated full-text Congressional Research Service reports (over 1000 at last count).
  • Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Network (EREN)
    US Department of Energy's portal to information on energy efficiency and renewable energy. Contains more than 600 links and 80,000 online documents.
  • Envirofacts Data Warehouse
    Access to EPA core datasets on air pollution, chemical names and safety, grants, hazardous wastes, regulated facilities, safe drinking water, Superfund sites, toxic chemical releases and water discharge permits. Information can be integrated across individual databases.
  • Water Resources Data of the United States (USGS)
    Access to water-resources data collected at approximately 1.5 million sites in all 50 States, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. Topics include: Real-Time; Site Information; Surface Water; Ground Water; and Water Quality (includes temperature, specific conductance, pH, nutrients, pesticides, and volatile organic compounds). Current and historical data.
  • EnviroLink Network
    Non-profit organization provides links to government agencies, publications, activist organizations and internet resources.
  • Environmental Protection Agency
    This site of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency highlights environmental science, research, education and assessment efforts.
  • Biological Resources Division, USGS
    Provides the scientific understanding and technologies needed to support the management and conservation of America’s biological resources.
  • National Environmental Publications Internet Site - NEPIS
    Searchable, full-text database of over 10,000 EPA documents.
  • AgNIC
    Agriculture Network Information Center. Over 1,000 information resources described.
  • Endangered Species Program
    (US Fish and Wildlife Service) Site containing program information and species lists, policy documents, and photos and reports.
  • Columbia Earthscape
    Web portal to resources related to education and research in earth sciences and environmental policy. It is divided into four main sections: research, education, links and resources, and an online magazine, Earth Affairs. The site offers papers, conference proceedings, journal abstracts, a daily news service, and links to databases, datasets, and quality Web sites.
  • Science.gov: Environment and Environmental Quality
    Science.gov searches over 40 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.



The Environmental Science Research Guide is maintained by Philip Yannarella. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457