Education (Web Resources)

What are you trying to find?

Education Web Resources

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

Departments and Boards of Education

Federal Resources

Praxis Resources

  • Praxis Tests
    The Praxis Series TM tests are taken by individuals entering the teaching profession as part of the certification process required by many states and professional licensing organizations.

Subject Resources

  • Gifted Resources
    This site is dedicated to providing links for gifted students at any grade level.
  • Internet Sources For Special Education
    Provides a variety of information about special education including teaching resources and information on disability and special education law.
  • Social Science Research Network
    SSRN is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 254,700 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 210,200 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format. The eLibrary also includes the research papers of a number of Fee Based Partner Publications.
  • Learning Theories
    A listing of web pages, articles, power points, and other items that discuss a variety of learning theories.
  • Theory Into Practice
    TIP is a tool intended to make learning and instructional theory more accessible to educators. The database contains brief summaries of 50 major theories of learning and instruction. These theories can also be accessed by learning domains and concepts.

Additional education related Web sites that can be used in the K-12 classroom are available at the Learning Resource Collection Web site.

The Education Research Guide is maintained by Jennifer Smith. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457