Education (Books & Media)

What are you trying to find?

Education Books & Media

How to Find books, videos, and other materials in Steely Library.

Quick Education Book Search:

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

For locating specific items, including videos in the Media Collection, using the library's catalog, NKUIRE, is recommended. Keyword, Author, Title, and Subject are among the ways you can search.

For Non-Print Media (videos, DVDs, CDs, slides, etc.), Consider the "Media Searches" tab atop the NKUIRE search page.

WorldCat is the world's most comprehensive bibliography, with more than 49 million bibliographic records representing 400 languages. Covers information from 2100 B.C.E. to the present. Includes holdings information from libraries across the world. Now includes the Library of Congress Subject Headings as its thesaurus. If Steely Library does not own a title, it may be requested through SourceFinder.

Browsing for books in Steely's Reference and Circulating collections can be very useful

For Education, the following call number areas are suggested:

  • GV201-555 - Physical Education and Training
  • GV557-1198 - Sports
  • GV1199-1570 - Games and Amusements
  • L7-991 - Education (General)
  • LA5-2396 - History of Education
  • LB5-3640 - Theory and Practice of Education
  • LB1050.0-1091 - Educational Psychology
  • LB1139.2-1140 - Early Childhood Education
  • LB1501-1547 - Primary Education
  • LB1555-1602 - Elementary Education
  • LB1603-1696.6 - High School Education
  • LB1705-2286 - Education and Training of Teachers and Administrators
  • LB2300-2430 - Higher Education
  • LB2801-3095 - School Administration and Organization
  • LC8-6691 - Special Aspects of Education
  • LC251-951 - Moral and Religious Education
  • LC3950-4806.5 - Exceptional Children and Youth including special needs and gifted
  • LD-LG - Information on individual education institutions around the world
  • LH1-9 - College and School Magazines and Papers
  • LJ3-165 - Student Fraternities and Societies of the United States
  • LRC LT - Learning Resource Collection
    • Curriculum materials intended for use with students from preschool through grade 12. The Learning Resource Collection is on the fourth floor of Steely Library.
  • Y - Children's and Young Adult Literature Collection
    • Can be found on the fourth floor of Steely Library as part of the Learning Resource Collection.

The Education Research Guide is maintained by Jennifer Smith. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457