Criminal Justice (Web Resources)

What are you trying to find?


Criminal Justice Web Resources

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

The Web has a variety of sites useful to the criminal justice student. Here are just a few recommended ones:

  • National Criminal Justice Reference Service
    The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains summaries of the more than 190,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, & substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection. Issued by the U.S. Department of Justice, National Institute of Justice.
  • United States Department of Justice
    Information on the U.S. Department of Justice. Provides links to full-text reports, job information & DOJ agencies.
  • Bureau of Justice Statistics Publications
    Provides an alphabetical list of BJS publications that are in electronic format. Contains statistical information surrounding crime, law & police.
  • American Society of Criminology
    The American Society of Criminology is an international organization concerned with criminology, embracing scholarly, scientific, & professional knowledge. The site includes publications & job information.
  • The Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences
    The Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences is an international association established in 1963 to foster professional and scholarly activities in the field of criminal justice. ACJS promotes criminal justice education, research, and policy analysis within the discipline of criminal justice for both educators and practitioners.
  • Southern Criminal Justice Association
    The Southern Criminal Justice Association is a regional organization, including Kentucky, affiliated with the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences. SCJA is a professional association serving criminal justice educators, researchers, practitioners, and students committed to the ongoing development of criminal justice science and practice.
  • American Academy of Forensic Science
    This nonprofit professional society focuses on applying science to the processes of law. Provides a link to a searchable index for the Journal of Forensic Science.
  • United Nations Crime & Justice Information Network
    A network mandated by the United Nations Economic & Social Council. Provides statistical information & information on national and international laws relating to criminal justice.
  • Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
    The Sourcebook is supported by the U.S. Department of Justice. It combines data from more than 100 sources on many aspects of criminal justice. The data is displayed in more than 1,000 tables.
  • Uniform Crime Reports 1998 to Present
    Established in 1929 to provide reliable crime statistics. Today data is supplied by more than 17,000 law enforcement agencies across the United States.
  • Kentucky Justice & Public Safety Cabinet
    The Kentucky Justice & Public Safety Cabinet (JPSC) is responsible for criminal justice services in the state.



The Criminal Justice Research Guide is maintained by Robert Zai III. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457