Steely Library phone number: 859.572.5457
Children's Literature (Web Resources)
Children's Literature Web Resources
- Nancy Keane's Children's Literature Web Page
This is the place to be when you are looking for ready-to-use book talks, lists of recommended reading, book reviews by children or other information about children's literature.
- Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site
This is a collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes and professional topics.
- Kay E. Vandergrift's Special Interest Page
This website is a means of sharing ideas and information with all those interested in literature for children and young adults. The “author” portion of the website is great for biographical information.
- The International Board on Books for Young People
The International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) is a non-profit organization which represents an international network of people from all over the world who are committed to bringing books and children together. They present the Hans Christian Andersen Medal every two years.
- The Newbery Medal Home Page
The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
- The Caldecott Medal Home Page
The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.
- The Coretta Scott King Book Awards
Given to African American authors and illustrator for outstanding inspirational and educational contributions, the Coretta Scott King Book Award titles promote understanding and appreciation of the culture of all peoples and their contribution to the realization of the American dream. The award is designed to commemorate the life and works of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and to honor Mrs. Coretta Scott King for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.
- The Kentucky Bluegrass Award
The purpose of the Kentucky Bluegrass Award (KBA) is to encourage the students of Kentucky in grades K through 12 to read quality children's literature.
Research and Study
- Cotsen Children's Library: Virtual Children's Books Exhibits
Princeton University's virtual exhibit of past exhibits of children's book illustrations offers visuals and brief explanations geared towards children and adults. The easy-to-use website is divided into four virtual exhibits, that contain a portion of what the physical exhibits at the Cotsen Children's Library at Princeton University displayed. The four exhibits can be accessed by clicking on their links on the homepage. The "Water Babies" exhibit contains illustrations of swimming, and was meant as a respite for kids who couldn't escape the city's heat. Each illustration in the virtual exhibit is accompanied by a short synopsis of the book or publication it came from, and often a web link or reading suggestion for more information on the author, illustrator, or subject matter of the book. The "Magic Lantern" virtual exhibit contains illustrations of magic lanterns, a type of projector widely available for home use, that were the precursors to film and television, and which enthralled children and adults alike. The "Creepy-Crawlies" exhibit highlighted the many illustrations of insects in children's books and natural history. The insects in children's books were most often portrayed as evil or villainous. But, if visitors can put those feelings aside, they will find many beautifully rendered drawings. The physical "Beatrix Potter" exhibit coincided with the publication of the Beatrix Potter Collection of Lloyd Cotsen in 2004, and the virtual exhibit contains illustrations by Potter, and others, with whom the visitor can use for comparison, to see Potter's unique style. From the Scout Report. Copyright Internet Scout Project, 1994-2009.
- Looking Glass for the Mind: 350 Years of Books for Children
The University of Washington Digital Collection of children's books starts off with a wonderful piece that touches on the beloved memories children's books bring back for so many, but also on the reasons why a university library would collect children's books. Several of the reasons given regard what children's books can teach us: printing and book illustration history, the "study of the gradual changes in familiar tales to reflect changes in societal acceptance and sensibilities," social and ethnic history, the historical role of women, and shifting views on education. After the homepage is the index to the exhibit with an introduction, a brief history of the first children's book publishers. To the left is the "Index" of topics that the books cover. Visitors will find a multitude, including "Fables", "Grammar, Spelling, Elocution & Rhetoric", "Math & Money", "Activity Books", and "Prejudice & Bigotry". Under the topic "Fables", visitors should check out The Baby's Own Aesop, illustrated by Walter Crane, who began an illustrating apprenticeship at the age of fourteen. [KMG]
Texts and Illustrations of Children's Books Available on the Internet
Primarily designed for first grade, Starfall is also useful for pre-kindergarten, kindergarten and second grade. For young children learning to read.
- Storyline Online
Sponsored by the Screen Actors Guild Foundation, Storyline Online provides online streaming video programs featuring SAG members reading children's books aloud. Each book is accompanied with activities and lesson ideas.
- Children's Books Online: the Rosetta Project
Largest collection of illustrated antique books online. Offers stories in other languages.
- International Children's Digital Library
The mission of the International Children’s Digital Library Foundation is to excite and inspire the world's children to become members of the global community – children who understand the value of tolerance and respect for diverse cultures, languages and ideas -- by making the best in children's literature available online.
Steely Library phone number: 859.572.5457