Children's Literature (Reference Items)

What are you trying to find?

Children's Literature Reference Items

The following are recommended Reference titles available from Steely Library

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

Credo Reference E-books

A complete reference collection from over 50 publishers, powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide answers - and new connections - in context.
Share this Resource:

  • The Oxford Encyclopedia of Children’s Literature
    Location: PN 1008.5 .O94 2006
    The Encyclopedia captures and elucidates this richness in four volumes and 3,200 signed entries. It offers comprehensive coverage of children's literature, from medieval chapbooks of moral instruction for children to J. K. Rowling's immensely popular Harry Potter books. Unlike other references, the Encyclopedia not only documents but also interprets every work, major and minor, that has played a role in the history of children's literature in the world. General essays illuminate prominent trends, themes, genres, and the traditions of children's literature in many countries. In addition, the Encyclopedia provides biographies of important writers, as well as extensive coverage of illustrators with numerous examples of their work. Sociocultural developments such as the impact of toys, films, animation, the Internet, literacy, libraries and librarians, censorship, the multicultural expansion of the field, and other issues related to the appreciation and dissemination of children's literature are also addressed.
  • Something About the Author
    Location: REF PN 451 .S6
    A multi-volume set providing biographical information and other facts about authors and illustrators creating literature for young people.
  • Children's Literature Review
    Location: REF PN 1009 .A1 C5139
    A multi-volume set that provides excerpts of reviews, commentary, and criticism about books written for children and young adults. Occasional biographical information about the authors and illustrators is sometimes included.
  • Literature Resource Center
    Full-text journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods from around the world.
  • Greenwood Encyclopedia of Folktales and Fairy Tales
    Location: REF GR 74 .G73 2008
    This massive Encyclopedia gives students and general readers a broad, multicultural survey of folk and fairy tales from around the world. Included are hundreds of alphabetically arranged entries written by numerous expert contributors. Entries cover themes and motifs, individuals, characters and character types, national traditions, genres, and a range of other topics.
  • 100 Years of Children's Books in America
    Location: PS 490 .A38 1996
    This uses a decade-by-decade approach to trace the development of kids' books from the past century. Chronological bibliographies accompany discussions of changing language, shifting genres, and significant transitions.
  • From Romance to Realism: 50 Years of Growth and Change in Young Adult Literature
    Location: PS 374 .Y6 C37 1996
    Traces the history of the YA novel beyond formulaic, problem-driven therapy and argues for realistic, complex fiction that dares to tackle serious subjects without sensationalism.
  • Children's Book Illustration and Design
    Location: NC 965 .C43 1991
    Introduces a sampling of the work of over 50 picture-book artists. Each of the alphabetically arranged entries includes a thumbnail biography, a black-and-white photo, a quote from the artist, and an illustration from a picture book (sometimes work from several books is used), which is briefly described and identified by title, author, publisher, and medium.
  • Myth, Magic, and Mystery
    Location: NC 975 .M97 1996X
    Explores four major themes--alphabets and nursery rhymes; myths, fables, and fairy tales; stories for young listeners and readers; and adolescent adventures and mysteries--through the works of yesterday's masters, such as Howard Pyle and N. C. Wyeth, as well as such contemporary giants as Maurice Sendak and Chris Van Allsburg.
  • Children's Books from Other Countries
    Location: Z 1037 .C5428 1998
    Recognizing that the best way to learn about the cultures of other lands is through their literature, the United States Board on Books for Young People sponsored this reference guide to children's titles originally published outside of the U.S. and translated into English. This resource is divided into three sections, containing a broad overview of the field, advice on how to use the books, and signed evaluative annotations for over 700 titles, arranged by genre.
  • The World through Children's Books
    Location: Z 1037 .W954 2002
    This annotated bibliography of international books published in the U.S. from 1996 through 2000 is sponsored by the U.S. Board on Books for Young People (USBBY). It is intended to be used with USBBY's first volume, Children's Books from Other Countries.
  • Crossing Boundaries with Children’s Books
    Location: Z 1037 .A1 C825 2006
    This third title sponsored by the United States Board on Books for Young People (USBBY) covers international titles for ages up to 14 published between 2000 and 2004. It also includes titles published in the U.S. and set in another country. As with previous volumes (1998, 2002), the major portion of the book is a bibliography arranged by global region and subdivided by country.

The Children's Literature Research Guide is maintained by Jennifer Smith. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457