Chemistry (Web Resources)

What are you trying to find?


Chemistry Web Resources

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

The Web has a variety of sites useful to the Chemistry student. Here are just a few recommended ones:

  • ScienceDaily
    "Your source for the latest research news … best known for showcasing the top science news stories from the world’s leading universities and research organizations."
  • ChemWeb Chemistry Portal
    "[P]rovides access to the information chemists need to enhance their research, product development, self-development, education, and/or their businesses in Chemistry and related disciplines. Easy access to abstracts, papers, books, conferences, news, forums and the Alchemist newsletter."
  • The Chemical Science and Technology Laboratory (CSTL) of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
    The "United States’ reference laboratory for chemical measurements, entrusted with developing, maintaining, advancing, and enabling the chemical measurement system for the nation. Today, CSTL has the most comprehensive array of chemical, physical, and engineering measurement capabilities of any group working in chemical science and technology."
  • Chemical Sciences at the Internet Public Library
    A compilation of recommended Chemistry sites from The Internet Public Library, which "is a public library for the world wide web. Students from a consortium of colleges and universities with programs in information science develop and maintain the IPL!"
  • Science.gov
    "Science.gov searches over 40 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results."
  • NIST Chemistry WebBook
    "[P]rovides access to data compiled and distributed by NIST [National Institute of Standards and Technology] under the Standard Reference Data Program." Includes thermochemical data for over 7000 organic and small inorganic compounds, reaction thermochemistry data for over 8000 reactions, IR spectra for over 16,000 compounds, and much more.
  • TOXNET
    From the U.S. National Library of Medicine, "Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases."
  • The Association of College and Research Libraries recommends:
    • Rolf Claessen’s Chemistry Index
      A detailed listing of chemistry and chemistry-related sites covering categories, such as companies, databases, journals, jobs, and societies. It features top 5% of chemistry sites each month. Selection criteria are content and design."
    • Selected Internet Resources for Chemistry (SIRCh)
      An extensive collection of prime chemistry Internet resources. Gary Wiggins of Indiana University compiled and maintains this site as a major part of the cheminfo site. He organizes the resources into five functional groups, Communication in chemistry, How and where to start, How and where to search: general, How and where to search: specialized, and Miscellaneous.
    • Yahoo – Chemistry
      This site indexes more than 1,200 resources in 39 categories in all areas of chemistry and related disciplines. It also provides links and annotations to sites labeled "most popular sites." However, it does not specify the criteria for the selection of these sites.
    • Analytical Abstracts
      Analytical Abstracts from the Royal Society of Chemistry is the premier specialist database for analytical chemistry information covering new techniques and applications. Contains more than 257,000 items from more than 250 journals and books. Updates are monthly with about 1,200 items. The database contains details of methods and results written from an analytical perspective covering relevant papers in more than 12 languages. It has a unique indexing system that facilitates easy retrieval of relevant analytical information.
    • NASA Technical Reports
      Contains reports of about 20 government agencies, some of which are full text. Contains bibliographic citations to worldwide aerospace-related information on aeronautics, astronautics, chemistry and materials, engineering, geosciences, life sciences, mathematical and computer sciences, physics, social sciences, and space sciences, published from 1915 to the present.
    • Chemical Patent Searching
      This is a well-organized list of important patent information, featuring free patent searching sites, sites that need registration, commercial patent databases, patent classification, country, and kind codes.
    • Web Elements
      This is one of the most up-to-date and complete periodic tables on the Web. Mark Winter of University of Sheffield manages this interactive table. A click on any element leads users to comprehensive data information about that element. Winter promises a search option in the next version.
    • ChemFinder
      This is a quick fact-finding database. It is searchable by chemical name, molecular formula, molecular weight, CAS registry number, and chemical structure. It offers free download for ChemDraw, a structure drawing software. There is a list of the sites indexed, a glossary of terms used and answers to frequently asked questions.
    • ThermoDex
      Thermodex is an index of selected thermodynamic data handbooks. This site contains records for printed handbooks and compilations of thermodynamic and thermophysical data for chemical compounds. Type of compound and/or property could be used to search, and the database will return a list of handbooks that might contain the data.
    • American Chemical Society (ACS)
      American Chemical Society is a 161,000 members strong professional body that seeks to promote the public’s perception and understanding of chemistry and the chemical sciences and assist the federal government with advice on scientific and technological issues involving the chemical sciences. Items on their homepage include career information, meetings, programs, and services.
    • Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC)
      Royal Society of Chemistry is the counterpart of ACS in the United Kingdom. With 46,000 members, it is a major publisher and provider of chemical information. Like its counterpart, it supports teaching of chemistry at all levels, organizes meetings, and is a leader in communicating science to the public.



The Chemistry Research Guide is maintained by Philip Yannarella. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457