Chemistry (Reference Items)

What are you trying to find?


Chemistry Reference Items

The following are recommended Reference titles available from Steely Library

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

Credo Reference E-books

A complete reference collection from over 50 publishers, powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide answers - and new connections - in context.
Share this Resource:
http://library.nku.edu/databases/credoreferenceebooks.html


  • CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
    Location: REF QD 65 .H3
    "The ultimate book of facts about chemistry and physics. This is a book that covers virtually every element, every physical formula, and every mathematical table imaginable." (Amazon.com)
  • Encyclopedia of Chemistry
    Location: REF QD 4 .R57 2005
    "With a structure that reflects the way chemistry is currently studied, [this] is the definitive reference to this vast subject area. Hundreds of chemistry-related entries, thought-provoking essays, leading discoveries, and biographies of notable chemists throughout history." (Amazon.com)
  • Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry
    Location: REF QD 148 .E53 2005
    10 volumes. "The ultimate resource on inorganic chemistry." Organized by "the following subject areas: Main Group Elements; Transition Metals and Coordination Chemistry; Organometallic Chemistry; Bioinorganic Chemistry; Solid State, Materials, Nanomaterials and Catalysis; and General Inorganic Chemistry, Theoretical and Computational Methods." (Amazon.com)
  • Facts on File Dictionary of Chemistry
    Location: REF QD 5 .F33 2005
    Some 3,000 entries and 1,700 pronunciations. "Appendixes provide a listing of carboxylic acids, amino acids, sugars, nitrogenous bases, and nucleotides; a list of the chemical elements; a periodic table of the elements; the Greek alphabet; Web sites; and a brief bibliography." (Amazon.com)
  • Facts on File Dictionary of Biochemistry
    Location: REF QP 512 .F33 2003
    "This dictionary offers concise explanations of over 2000 key terms in the field. It includes a network of cross-references and over 60 illustrations. It should be particularly relevant to AP Science students, and it contains a number of useful lists, tables, and a bibliography." (Amazon.com)
  • Handbook of Reagents for Organic Synthesis: Chiral Reagents for Asymmetric Synthesis
    Location: REF QD 77 .C45 2003x
    A "handbook which focuses on chiral reagents used in asymmetric synthesis and is designed for the chemist at the bench … in this handy reference the editors give details on how to prepare, store and use the reagents as well as providing key reactions to demonstrate where reagents have been successfully used." (Amazon.com)
  • Handbook of Radical Polymerization
    Location: QD 821 .P6 H29 2002eb (electronic book)
    "A one-stop, at-your-fingertips source of information for students, researchers, technologists, and industrial managers, the Handbook functions as a single reference of the conventional and controlled/living radical polymerization methods. Two expert editors collect and present historical background of the technique, basic information regarding various free radical polymerization systems, and state-of-the-art experimental techniques and industrial applications." (Amazon.com)
  • Riegel’s Handbook of Industrial Chemistry
    Location: TP 145 .R53 2003eb (electronic book)
    The "most accessible reference available for professionals who need an orientation and overview on today's varied chemical processes, products, and practices. No other one-volume source offers as much detailed data on the chemistry, engineering, economics, and technological infrastructure of all major chemical industry segments." (Amazon.com)
  • ACS Style Guide: Effective Communication of Scientific Information
    Location: INFO DESK QD 8.5 .A25 2006
    An American Chemical Society publication, "providing invaluable insight on ethics in scientific communication, the editorial process, copyright, conventions in chemistry, grammar, punctuation, spelling, and writing style for any STM author, reviewer, or editor … the definitive source for all information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts." (Amazon.com)
  • Nontraditional Careers for Chemists: New Formulas in Chemistry
    Location: REF QD 39.5 .B25 2007
    "Career fields profiled include communication, chemical information, patents, sales and marketing, business development, regulatory affairs, public policy, safety, human resources, computers, and several others. Taken together, the career descriptions and real case histories provide a complete picture of each nontraditional career path, as well as valuable advice about how career transitions can be planned and successfully achieved by any chemist." (Amazon.com)



The Chemistry Research Guide is maintained by Philip Yannarella. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457