Career Research (Web Resources)

What are you trying to find?


Career Research Web Resources

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

The Web has a variety of sites useful to the student researching careers. Here are just a few recommended ones:

  • Occupational Outlook Handbook
    "The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. Revised every two years, the Handbook describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations."
  • College Source Online
    Provides full text (in pdf format) of over 20,000 college catalogs, including 2-year, 4-year, graduate, and professional schools.
  • Federal Jobs Digest
    Information on jobs & careers with the government.
  • O*NET Online
    The O*NET system serves as the nation's primary source of occupational information, providing comprehensive information on key attributes and characteristics of workers and occupations. The O*NET database houses this data and O*NET Online provides easy access to that information.
  • The Riley Guide
    Excellent starting place for information on careers and job-hunting. Many links to employers, newspaper job ads, state employment offices, etc.
  • Cincinnati Career Finder
    Search classified ads from The Cincinnati Post and The Cincinnati Enquirer.
  • Careers.org
    Links to employers, job postings on the Internet, career centers by state, career services and advice, resource materials, etc.
  • Monster.com
    Search job postings on the web, research companies, and other helpful resources.
  • Bureau of Labor Statistics Employment Projections
    "The Employment Projections Program (EPP) develops information about the labor market for the Nation as a whole for 10 years in the future." Features career outlook information as well as databases for viewing employment projections for different careers.



The Career Research Guide is maintained by Nancy Campbell. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457