Business (Web Resources)

What are you trying to find?


Business Web Resources

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

The Web has a variety of sites useful to the business student. Here are just a few recommended ones:

  • Business Week
    With editorial content provided by the magazine's award-winning staff, the new site offers a rich array of information resources to consumers and the business community. In addition to the Business Week Computer Buying Guide, the site features daily business news, stock quotes, archives, Business Week's popular business school rankings and more.
  • Hoover's Online
    The ultimate source for company information on the Internet. A database contains information on over 8,000 companies. Search by Location, Industry, and/or Sales.
  • Bureau of Labor Statistics
    "The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. It has a dual role as the statistical arm of the Department of Labor and as an independent national statistical agency that collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates sensitive economic and statistical data to the American public, Congress, other Federal agencies, State and local governments, business, and labor."
  • FINWEB
    A directory of finance and economics Web sites, including journals, working papers, databases and other resources.
  • CNNfn: The Financial Network
    Current stocks, markets, news.
  • Economic Indicators
    This monthly publication provides economic information on gross domestic product, personal consumption and expenditures, exports and imports, government purchases, corporate profits, employment, interest rates, etc.
  • Federal Reserve Bulletin
    This monthly publication of the Federal Reserve Board includes a regular section on financial and business statistics. It provides national and international figures on interest rates, assets and liabilities of banks, stock market statistics, mortgage markets, industrial production, GNP, personal income, etc. Coverage: 1940-present
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States
    A compilation of statistics on the social, political and economic organization of the United States; mainly national data, but some regional, state and MSA tables. Only selected tables are available on the Web site; for complete information, use the book. Coverage: annual
  • Standard and Poor's Stock Reports
    Covers the current status of approximately 3,500 of the most widely traded stocks. Includes stocks listed on the American Stock Exchange, the New York Stock Exchange, the NASDAQ and regional exchanges. Reports are updated approximately every five weeks; you can order the very latest version of an individual stock report from Standard and Poor’s Web site. Also, see BigCharts from MarketWatch for additional stock reports.
  • NAICS Code Manual
    In 1997, the North American Industry Classification System replaced SIC codes for industries. NAICS was developed jointly by the U.S., Canada and Mexico so that business statistics across North America could be more easily compared. The manual provides tables matching old SIC numbers to new NAICS numbers (and vice versa), and is searchable by key word.
  • Economic Census
    Every five years the U.S. Bureau of the Census surveys the business areas of wholesale trade, retail trade, service industries, manufacturers, and the construction industry. The results are published under the titles Census of Wholesale Trade, Census of Retail Trade, etc. Statistics are given for a broad range of items. Some of the statistics are compiled in a geographical arrangement; (for example, service industries in Kentucky), and some are by subject (for example, a study limited to minority-owned business).



The Business Research Guide is maintained by John Schlipp. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457