Biological Sciences (Web Resources)

What are you trying to find?

Biological Sciences Web Resources

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
    Excellent information on health, diseases, health tips for travelers. Many links.
  • Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
    All the information one would expect from this site, including access to many publications online.
  • National Biological Information Infrastructure
    Dedicated to the development of an electronic federation of biological databases and information sources, both governmental and private sector. Many very important links to a vast variety of biological information, such as biodiversity, systematics, invasive species, and educational aids.
  • National Center for Biotechnology Information
    A very important site for biotechnology information and links, including GenBank, MEDLINE, molecular databases, biomedical information, literature links, and many other public databases.
  • National Institutes of Health
    "The National Institutes of Health is the steward of medical and behavioral research for the Nation. It is an Agency under the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services."
  • National Library of Medicine
    Many invaluable links to MEDLINE, health directories, biotechnical information.
  • National Agricultural Library (United States Department of Agriculture)
    Links to valuable sites like Agricola, the agriculture database, and the National Plant Database.
  • United States Department of Agriculture
    Links to all agencies of the department, including natural resources. See example which follows this entry.
  • United States Department of Agriculture: National Plant Database
    Provides an excellent source of information about plants and great links to other plant web pages.
  • World Health Organization
    Full-text versions of the yearly World Health Reports are available, as well as other documents published by the WHO. Good source for statistical information about world health issues.
  • The Institute of Human Origins
    Arizona State University’s, 'Institute of Human Origins (IHO) conducts, interprets and publicizes scientific research on the human career. IHO's unique approach brings together scientists from diverse disciplines to develop integrated, bio-behavioral investigations of human evolution. Through research, education, and the sponsorship of scholarly interaction, IHO advances scientific understanding of our origins and its contemporary relevance. Combining interdisciplinary expertise and targeted funding, IHO fosters the pursuit of integrated solutions to the most important questions regarding the course, cause and timing of events in human evolution.'
  • Biology and Nature searches over 40 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.'
  • EOL: Encyclopedia of Life
    'The Encyclopedia of Life is an unprecedented global partnership between the scientific community and the general public. Our goal is to make freely available to anyone knowledge about all the world’s organisms. Anybody can register as an EOL member and add text, images, videos, comments or tags to EOL pages. Expert curators ensure quality of the core collection by authenticating materials submitted by diverse projects and individual contributors.'
  • Biology Links
    Produced by the Harvard University Department of Molecular and Cell Biology, this is one of the best sources for links to all aspects of biology.
  • Writer's Handbook
    A guide to using CBE (Council of Biological Editors) style when writing papers.

The Biological Sciences Research Guide is maintained by Philip Yannarella. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457