Biological Sciences (Articles)

Search for Biological Sciences Articles:

edsbiosci

What are you trying to find?


Biological Sciences Articles in Magazines, Journals, and Newspapers

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

  • Academic Search Complete

    Contains full text articles from nearly 9,000 journals, including more than 8,000 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly all 14,000 journals in the collection.
    Provided by the KYVL.
    Mobile Version:
    Academic Search Premier Mobile

    Share this Resource:
    http://library.nku.edu/databases/academicsearchcomplete.html

  • Agripedia

    Created to allow students to use resources across the country in an integrated, interactive learning resource on the Internet. As an "encyclopedia of agriculture," Agripedia presents facts, figures, demonstrations, examples, graphics, and more regarding the concepts, practices, and vocabulary of agriculture in a multimedia format using audio clips, graphics, text, and animation."
    Share this Resource:
    http://library.nku.edu/databases/agripedia.html

  • Biological Abstracts

    Biological Abstracts is a complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,300 journals internationally. This database contains more than 13.2 million archival records from as far back as 1969, with more than 370,000 citations added each year.
    Mobile Version:

    Biological Abstracts Mobile

    Coverage:
    1969 - present
    Share this Resource:
    http://library.nku.edu/databases/biologicalabstracts.html

  • General Science Abstracts (H.W. Wilson)

    Indexes articles on a variety of science-related information. Designed for students and non-specialists.
    Mobile Versions:
    General Science Abstracts Mobile

    Coverage:
    1984 - present, updated monthly
    Tutorials:
    View General Science Abstracts (H.W. Wilson) Tutorials

    Share this Resource:
    http://library.nku.edu/databases/generalscienceabstracts.html

  • GreenFILE

    Offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
    Mobile Version:

    GreenFILE Mobile

    Share this Resource:
    http://library.nku.edu/databases/greenfile.html

  • JSTOR : the Scholarly Journal Archive

    An archive of journals that spans many disciplines. Provides high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.
    Mobile Version:

    JSTOR Mobile
    Other:

    JSTOR Data for Research
    Tutorials:

    View JSTOR : the Scholarly Journal Archive Tutorials
    Share this Resource:
    http://library.nku.edu/databases/jstorscholarlyjournalarchive.html

  • JSTOR Plant Science

    JSTOR Plant Science is an online environment that brings together global plants content, tools, and people interested in plant science. It provides access to foundational content vital to plant science - plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials.
    Share this Resource:
    http://library.nku.edu/databases/jstorplantscience.html

  • MEDLINE in EBSCO

    Indexes biomedical journals using MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Topics include medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and per-clinical sciences.
    Mobile Version:
    MEDLINE in EBSCO Mobile

    Share this Resource:
    http://library.nku.edu/databases/medline.html

  • SciTech Connect

    SciTech Connect is a portal to free, publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information. SciTech Connect is a consolidation of two core DOE search engines, the Information Bridge and the Energy Citations Database. SciTech Connect incorporates all of the R&D information from these two products into one search interface. SciTech Connect was developed by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) to increase access to science, technology, and engineering research information from DOE and its predecessor agencies.
    Share this Resource:
    http://library.nku.edu/databases/scitech_connect.html

     

  • ScienceDirect

    The three collections that comprise the College Edition of ScienceDirect are as follows: Health & Life Sciences - Consisting of over 1,100 titles, the HLS collection delivers an immense amount of peer-reviewed journal content covering nursing and allied health, biology, sports science, environmental science, veterinary sciences, and much more. Physical Sciences & Engineering - The PS&E collection brings together over 730 journals to deliver cutting edge information in the areas of chemistry, physics, computer science, mathematics, engineering, information technology, energy, and more. Social & Behavioral Sciences - Comprised of over 380 high-quality journals, the S&BS collection delivers comprehensive coverage in the fields of business administration, management, accounting, psychology, political science, education, economics, sociology, and more.
    Share this Resource:
    http://library.nku.edu/databases/sciencedirect.html

  • Scopus

    Scopus is a large abstract and citation database which covers 15,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 4,000 international publishers. The majority of the publications are in science fields, however humanities and social sciences are represented. It also includes coverage of:

    • Over 1200 Open Access journals
    • 500 Conference Proceedings
    • Over 600 Trade Publications
    • 200 Book Series

    Scopus contains millions of records, of which 16 million records include references going back to 1996 (75% include references), and 17 million pre-1996 records go back as far as 1841. Scopus also covers 386 million quality web sources, including 22 million patents. Web sources are searched via Scirus, and include author homepages, university sites and resources such as the preprint servers CogPrints and ArXiv.org, and OAI compliant resources.
    Mobile Versions:

    Scopus Alerts (Lite) (mobile iPhone App)

    Coverage:
    1841 - present, updated bimonthly
    Share this Resource:
    http://library.nku.edu/databases/scopus.html

  • Statistical Insight

    Provides access to: statistical information; indexing and full text statistical data from U.S. government publications from 2004 (indexing from 1973), state and private sources from 2007 (indexing from 1980), and international organizations from 2007 (indexing from 1980); and visualization tools.
    Mobile Version:

    Statistical Insight Mobile
    Coverage:
    1973 - present
    See also:

    ASI [American Statistics Index] (print index)
    Share this Resource:
    http://library.nku.edu/databases/statisticalinsight.html

  • Toxnet

    A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and toxic releases.
    Share this Resource:
    http://library.nku.edu/databases/toxnet.html



The Biological Sciences Research Guide is maintained by Philip Yannarella. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457