Biological Sciences (Reference Items)

What are you trying to find?


Biological Sciences Reference Items

The following are recommended Reference titles available from Steely Library

  • These are suggestions only and do not reflect the full range of materials that may be useful to you.
  • If you need additional assistance, Ask Steely Library!

Credo Reference E-books

A complete reference collection from over 50 publishers, powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide answers - and new connections - in context.
Share this Resource:
http://library.nku.edu/databases/credoreferenceebooks.html

Agripedia

Created to allow students to use resources across the country in an integrated, interactive learning resource on the Internet. As an "encyclopedia of agriculture," Agripedia presents facts, figures, demonstrations, examples, graphics, and more regarding the concepts, practices, and vocabulary of agriculture in a multimedia format using audio clips, graphics, text, and animation."
Share this Resource:
http://library.nku.edu/databases/agripedia.html


  • A Dictionary of Biology (2004)
    Location: REF QH302.5 D5 2004x
    Provides comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry.
  • Encyclopedia of Biology (2004)
    Location: REF QH309.2 .R58
    An excellent source for brief entries on a wide range of biological topics.
  • Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology (2006)
    Location: REF QR9 .S56
    Encyclopedic reference work covers the whole field of pure and applied microbiology and microbial molecular biology.
  • Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (2000)
    Location: REF QP512 .O94
    A comprehensive survey of current biochemistry and molecular biology. Defines key terms in biochemistry and molecular biology, with recommended biochemical nomenclature and alternative names.
  • Encyclopedia of Evolution (2002)
    Location: REF QH360.2 .E54
    Covers the essentials of evolutionary biology in 370 original articles written by leading experts. The articles cover basic concepts and theories; models, methods, and findings; schools of thought; current controversies; biographies; and more.
  • Encyclopedia of Bioethics (2004)
    Location: REF QH 332 .E52 2004
    Five volume set with extensive essays on topics dealing with ethics and values in the life sciences and health fields.
  • Evolution Wars: A Guide to the Debates (2009)
    Location: REF QH 361 .R874
    The Evolution Wars draws on history, science, and philosophy to examine the development of evolutionary thought through the past two and a half centuries. It focuses on the debates that have engaged, divided, and ultimately provoked scientists to ponder the origins of organisms - including humankind - paying regard to the nineteenth-century clash over the nature of classification and debates about the fossil record, genetics, and human nature.' (Amazon.com)
  • A Dictionary of Genetics (2006)
    Location: REF QH 427 .K55 2006
    A very useful specialized subject dictionary which includes many terms not found in general biology dictionaries. (Several other subject dictionaries are also available in the Q and R sections of the reference area.)
  • Atlas of Human Anatomy (2003)
    Location: REF QM25 .N46
    A comprehensive anatomy atlas for medical study, clinical reference, and patient education with clear and accurate illustrations.
  • Concise Oxford Dictionary of Botany (1998)
    Location: REF QK9. D52
    Completely comprehensive, this dictionary offers concise and accessible explanations of terms from biogeology, evolution, earth history, and all the earth sciences, as well as up-to-date entries on more current fields of interest such as ecology, genetics, plant physiology, biochemistry, and cytology.
  • American Medical Association Manual of Style : a Guide for Authors and Editors (2007)
    Location: INFO DESK R119 .A533 2007
    This book is located at the third floor Public Service Desk. Medical writing guide for authors and editors
  • Scientific Style and Format : the CBE Manual for Authors, Editors and Publishers
    Location: INFO DESK T11 .S386 1994
    This book is located at the third floor Public Service Desk. Council of Biology Editor's manual and writing guide for authors, editors and publishers.
  • U. S. Bureau  of Labor Statistics. Occupational Outlook Handbook   http://purl.fdlp.gov/GPO/gpo25035  



The Biological Sciences Research Guide is maintained by Philip Yannarella. Suggestions and comments are welcome.

Steely Library phone number:  859.572.5457