Steely Library phone number: 859.572.5457
Art (Web Resources)
What are you trying to find?
Art Web Resources
- Visual Arts Career Guide
"Explore careers in Art [through] links to job descriptions, which include information such as daily activities, skill requirements, salary and training required. To learn more about Art, follow the related links below the career descriptions section."
- Metropolitan Museum of Art Timeline of Art History
"The Timeline of Art History is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated especially by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection."
A fast way to find brief information on 7,000 artists, and links to at least one image of the artists' work. Searchable by movement, medium, subject, or nationality, plus a link for doing picture searches.
- Artlex Art Dictionary
Features "definitions for more than 3,600 terms used in discussing art / visual culture, along with thousands of supporting images, pronunciation notes, great quotations and cross-references."
- Art & Architecture Thesaurus Online
AATO contains more than 125,000 terms covering “fine art, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, and material culture” and is more than a thesaurus, including brief definitions (the searchable “notes” field) and an impressive, easily navigable hierarchical tree. Extensive and still growing, it includes historic and contemporary terms.
- AICT (Art Images for College Teaching)
Royalty-free image exchange resource for the educational community.
- Mark Harden's Artchive
Good general site for fine art scans, art exhibit reviews, online exhibitions, art criticism and commentary, and links to museum, artist, and resources sites.
- Smithsonian's Archives of American Art
"Since 1954, the Archives has collected roughly 16 million letters, photographs, diaries, oral history interviews, sketches, scrapbooks, business records, and other documents that support the study of the history of the visual arts in America."
- Mother of all Art History Links Pages
This site offers links to art history departments around the US, research tools, online exhibits and much more.
- World Wide Arts Resources
"The largest site for contemporary art, art news, art history, contemporary artist and gallery portfolios, online since 1995."
- Printmaking Link Web Site
From Middle Tennessee State University Art Department. "If you are a printmaker you should be able to find something that interests you here."
- Alternative Museum
"The Alternative Museum was originally founded in 1975 as the Alternative Center for International Arts Inc. TAM served the public with more than 375 exhibitions and over 500 concerts and panel discussions as it provided a new paradigm for contemporary arts institutions. Projects focused on the pressing social and political issues of our times."
- American Visionary Art Museum (AVAM)
Website of this national museum, located in Baltimore, Maryland. The museum is dedicated to outsider and visionary art.
- Art Crimes: The Writing on the Wall
A graffiti site.
"d'ART is a marketplace and community of fine artists and dealers. Use our marketplace to peruse the offerings of over 4,000 artists from around the world.Use our community to blog or find information on over 12,000 artists.Use our web directory to locate art resources not on on this website. Just looking for some posters to hang on the wall? Search the internet's top poster sites at posterbrowser.com."
- International Directory of Art Libraries
"This Directory is provided as a means to access nearly 3,000 libraries and library departments with specialized holdings in art, architecture, and archaeology throughout the world. Data recorded for each institution includes address, telephone and tele-facsimile numbers, hours of operation, annual closings, and listings of professional personnel. It also includes electronic mail addresses of individual librarians and direct web links to institutional home pages."
- ArtPlace.com: The Mixed Media Store!
A "resource for the mixed media, textural, or sculptural artist … The online store offers various lines of products that have an endless variety of uses. These mediums and products offer hundreds of ways to produce unique, creative, quality fine art and crafts. These products are used by doll makers, sculptors, life casters, architectural artists, painters, printers, and even repair and construction specialists … The interactive portions of the site and the galleries are a place for our customers, clients, friends, and anyone who loves art to find ideas and great creative works of art. "
A "Directory of Art & Design Schools and Art & Design Degrees."
Art Museum NetworkThe official website of the world's leading art museums.MuseumStuff.comDirectory to Museums OnlineThe Virtual Library: Museums in the USAFeatures links to 402 art museums located in the United States.Virtual Library Museums Pages"A distributed directory of on-line museums."
- The Cincinnati Art Museum
- The Contemporary Arts Center, Cincinnati
- The Taft Museum of Art, Cincinnati
- American Museum of Photography
- Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco
- The Getty
- The Metropolitan Museum of Art
- Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago
- Museum of Modern Art, New York
- Museum of Neon Art
- Museum of Online Museums
- National Gallery of Art
- National Museum of Women in the Arts, D.C.
- Smithsonian American Art Museum
- Kyoto National Museum, Japan
- National Museum of African Art
- Tate Britain Museum
Steely Library phone number: 859.572.5457